Second Chance, huh?

I open my Facebook account less frequently than before what with more important things to do like watching movies and The Big Bang Theory and using Pinterest. Heck, if it weren’t for the co-curricular group in our department at the university, I have deactivated my account already. And at the most unexpected time, I see this article saying that ABC is giving second chance at television/cinematic life to the failed The Mortal Instruments franchise.

And here’s my question: If they can do this (and I swear, I’ve thought of it when I finished watching The Lightning Thief) then why isn’t Percy Jackson and the Olympians getting its well-deserved second chance at television/cinematic life? And they even made the most preposterous move of continuing it anyway! There are three more books to either ruin or salvage (along with the two that were already ruined). Not to mention, another series that connects to this!

Who are we kidding? Logan is the perfect Percy... I just can't say the same for the others... and  the plot line! *sobs hysterically*
Who are we kidding? Logan is the perfect Percy… I just can’t say the same for the others… and the plot line! *sobs hysterically*

This is appalling in the most aggravating way!

And it’s sad because (I’m sorry to The Mortal Instruments fans) Percy Jackson and the Olympians is better than Shadowhunters–in adventure, action, plot line, character development, mythological/fantasy roots, humor, and pure romance. The only thing The Mortal Instruments is deemed more appealing than Percy Jackson and the Olympians is its movie adaptation! Which a TV network is going to salvage!

No, no! He's not supposed to be there until--*sigh* oh God.
No, no! He’s not supposed to be there until–*sigh* oh God.

Meanwhile, we lovers of Percy and the rest of the gang (even the Olympians) continues to cry out for this cinematic injustice made by screenwriters who did not see the appeal of following what’s in the book. And nothing is going to comfort me for half a year more until Uncle Rick lets out The Sword of Summer. So excuse me while I return to my The Big Bang Theory marathon with prospective tears on the corners of my eyes and snot trying to fall down.

I’m not opening Facebook for weeks.

Well, well. Isn't this a good one for the occasion? Go at it, Lerman.
Well, well. Isn’t this a good one for the occasion? Go at it, Lerman.
3 thoughts on “Second Chance, huh?

Share Your Thoughts

