10 Books that Sums Up My Early Bookworm Days

I’d love to say that there are many books that made me and my life as great as it is now. The beauty of having a wide vocabulary, appreciating wonderfully structured written form, a mind that has traveled to hundreds of worlds, and a heart that has been moved numerous times–not to mention, crushed by the totally gorgeous male characters who are way out of my league. So many names are running through my brain right now.

Anyway, the thing is: books have always been greatly significant to my life. But it was always the first ones that paved the way for my journey as a bookworm. They’ll always be special to me. So special that to this day, I can still remember snippets of scenes that has been etched permanently in my memory…even if I don’t remember the title of the books of said memorable scenes.

…I needed to search the names of a few of the books below. (see:#’s 1, 9 and 10–and okay, 2 but just because I forgot the titles of the stories I’ve read. Karen had so many adventures young as she was.)

  1. Bobbsey Twins at the Ice Carnival by Laura Lee Hope

    This book was the first book I’ve ever finished. And sure, it was for a book report project in my third grade English but still.
  2. Babysitter’s Little Sitter by Ann M. Martin

    I remember how it was my goal to finish this series and remember Karen. She made me think that having two families and wearing a cast (things I’ve never experienced even now) looked awesome back in the day.
  3. Nancy Drew by Carolyn Keene

    I think it was this book that had given me my first book-caused heart palpitations where I close the book at the suspense part (take note of the thumb bookmarking the page), talk in gibberish, ignore my family looking at me weirdly, take a deep breath and continue reading. I swear, I’m better at it now.
  4. Hardy Boys by Franklin W. Dixon

    This was the second one (see:above), now that I remember.
  5. Bad Beginning, Reptile Room, Wide Window by Lemony Snicket

    I remember being scared at watching the film for this. Then I was temporarily relieved when The Littlest Elf entered, gloating at my sister in the process, only to be crushed by the voice of Jude Law saying, “this is not the movie that you’ll be watching”. Seriously. It took me the third time I watched the movie to realize it wasn’t supposed to be scary. That was when I read the book. I’m still at the 12th book right now… don’t judge.
  6. Harry Potter and the Sorceror’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

    My childhood would never be complete if The Boy Who Lived didn’t exist.
  7. Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

    My first impression on this? “It’s like Harry Potter.” Who would have thought I’ll be a more hardcore fan of Percy than Harry’s. Still a hardcore fan of Harry, though.
  8. Leave it to Claire by Tracey Bateman

    I think this was the first chick lit novel I’ve read. And I loved it. I laughed so hard and even if I can’t relate to Claire, she was such an adorable person to watch interact.
  9. Still Waters by Shirlee McCoy

    I think this was the first romance novel I’ve ever read. And the first mystery/suspense, too. I have read the struggle between Jake Reed and Tiffany Anderson first before I even knew about the preteen love-hate relationship of Percy Jackson and Annabeth Chase.
  10. From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg

    Oh, I remember feeling so proud about reading a book “with a medal”! I remember feeling more sophisticated than the rest of my classmates…
    You know, it’s a good thing I’ve grown out of that attitude.
Share Your Thoughts

