10 Songs that Sum Up My Childhood Music Taste

I grew up in an era where having a Walkman and a cassette is the coolest thing in the world. My family consists of musically-inclined people with different tastes. My grandpa likes to listen to old songs every Sunday morning and afternoon; my mom and her siblings have their own CDs and tapes of Britney Spears, Shaggy and Michael Learns To Rock; my dad was a former band member.

Me and my sister practically grew up with dinosaur toys and round brushes as microphones and the couches as our stage. There was a picture of the two of us singing–with her being too awkward and I was too engaged at entertaining my imaginary audience. (Nope, you’re not seeing that here. Besides, I left it in my grandfather’s house)

It’s funny how the books I’ve read when I was younger paved the way for my preference in books while my music tastes back in my childhood revolved almost entirely on mainstream music. And now, I’m more into alternative and indie. Granted, I still listen to some of the songs in this list– either for the sheer pleasure of hitting a wave of nostalgia or because I love the song to hell. But anyway, here are 10 songs that sums up what I listen when I was younger.

  1. “Breathless” by The Corrs

    Oh, I seriously loved The Corrs back then. It was the first ever Western music that I was exposed to and I was exposed to it every single day. I remember being all alone in the living room and just reaching my hands out to my imaginary audience while singing “Radio”. I guess the daydreaming me was developed from the ol’ deluded me.
  2. “Lucky” by Britney Spears

    When I was a freshman in high school, I auditioned for our class band singing Britney’s “Sometimes”. I’ve always been so proud of being a Britney Spears fan before. Now, it’s just so sad how she succumbed to the flow of pop music along with creating songs with shallow lyrics and unnecessary show of boobs.
  3. “Wannabe” by Spice Girls

    Me and my sister always sings this song with so much gusto, as if we are still elementary students. Even now, I tell you.
  4. “Paint My Love” by Michael Learns To Rock

    My aunt has a cassette tape and CD for this particular album and when I was a kid, I’d sneak into her room and memorize the lyrics of this song just because I wanted to. When I ripped the lyrics of the one in the cassette tape, I never touched it ever again.
  5. “Everybody” by Backstreet Boys

    This song is one of those timeless songs that you’ll never forget–even the media won’t let us forget about it. This Is The End used this song near the end. It was hilarious and nostalgic at the same time.
  6. “Say My Name” by Destiny’s Child

    I still have this song in my playlist and I still love it. Destiny’s Child was a great girl group. I mean, it was where Beyonce was from. And while I hardly listen to Beyonce’s songs now, I still have high appreciation to her music.
  7. “Low” by Flo-Rida

    Remember when Friendster existed and it was more famous than Facebook? And you can put music into your profile like every other cool kids? (It’s one of the things that Facebook lacks and one of the minor reasons why vanity became tolerant. I mean, I have no problem with documenting and celebrating every significant events in your life. But waking up and fixing your hair to “bed hair perfection”? Kid, that’s testing one’s toleration. Just put your favorite music in and be done with it.) Well, I had Flo-Rida’s “Low” as the music playing every time you open my profile. I’ve long detached myself with the guy because hiphop just wasn’t anything I listen to now–with exception to Gorillaz, of course.
  8. “Umbrella” by Rihanna

    Oh god, I could still remember my mixed-up feelings for this song. It was nice and I listen to it–even turn up the volume of the radio when it’s playing. But when I heard everyone else listening to it, my face crumpled in disgust. It was one of the first mainstream songs that surfaced the hippie-ish, alternative-loving side of me.
  9. “Teardrops on My Guitar” by Taylor Swift

    I first heard this song being played on a radio and I imagined that Taylor Swift was a brunette. When I saw her in the music video of “Love Story” in MTV, I was utterly shocked. Hey, don’t fault the younger me I honestly don’t know how I got that assumption…actually, it might have something to do with Britney Spears, Jessica Simpson and Avril Lavigne having this certain high pitch. And I swear to you, I only learned that Christina Aguilera was blonde a few years after Swift.
  10. “What Makes You Beautiful” by One Direction

    Yes, yes. It has only been five years so why are they here? Well…before 2010, I just listen to anything that I find cool. I’ve never stuck to just one artist or genre for so long. I had an ultimate movie soundtracks phase back in 2008-09. Then one night, my sister left the computer with Youtube open and the music video of this song was paused. I listened to the song and was hooked.
    Back then, I couldn’t even distinguish any of them other than the blonde guy (Niall). There was only one other classmate of mine who also listened to One Direction and he was a guy. We talked about the boy band even singing along to their songs. My best friend–who later became a fan girl a year later–even mistook One DIrection with One Republic. That was seriously funny and we never let her forget about it.
    Oh and by the way, I don’t listen to One Direction now. As if my In My Playlist posts don’t obviously say that.
Share Your Thoughts

