Book Review: The Circle by Cindy Cipriano

Not so long ago, I’ve made a book review for The Choice, the second installment of the Sidhe Series, without any significant knowledge of the first installment, The Circle. A few days ago, I was fortunate enough to be given a copy of the first book but after reading the novel, I realized that I was more than fortunate.

The Circle revolves around the life of the twelve-year-old Calum Ranson, seven years after the mysterious disappearance of his cousin, Finley. On the summer before he enters sixth grade, Laurel Werner enters his mother’s bookstore and Calum’s life bringing with her a mystery of her own that might reveal a connection to Finley. And cost Finley’s life.

I’ve known, even from reading The Choice prior to reading this book, that this series will be wonderful. And now that I’ve got my bearings to the series, I’m downright sure of it. Granted, I already know where the story was heading but that doesn’t stop the tiny details from making me excited and engaged. It was these tiny details that made me so happy in getting to read the first book.

I loved how the pace of the story was moderate–not so fast, and not too slow. Although the development of the story were, at times, going on a quite slow pace the revelations and the climax of the story rose smoothly. One great thing about reading the second book first was that the foreshadowing of the events in the first book was clearer at first read. This showed to me immediately how smooth the entire plot was set out and written.

Most of all, I especially loved the emotional struggles of Calum Ranson. Despite being different from any other kid in town, he was enduring the same kind of struggles that every kid experiences. It was that point near the end when he broke down that I felt connected to him. That I so wanted tears to fall because I was so moved by him. Because, let’s face it, at some point in our lives we have felt utterly responsible for a bad thing that happened. I know I did…a couple of times. And accepting that the world isn’t our burden to carry alone was hard.

Having read the first book now, I’m planning on rereading The Choice. Not now, really, but soon. This series is starting to see the light for me and if I have read The Circle before The Choice, I would still say the same. I’m hoping for this series to get big (even if the small hipster-ish part of me doesn’t want it to) because it has greater potential compared to the other YAs hitting the mainstream shelves nowadays. I know I’ll be following this series.

4/5


I’d like to give a big thanks to Ms. Michelle Lovi, publisher from Odyssey Books, who was so kind to give me this a copy of the first installment of the Sidhe Series. Thank you!

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Circle by Cindy Cipriano

  1. Loved the first book and bought several copies to give to my nieces and nephews!! Cannot wait to purchase the second book “The Choice” so they may continue to explore what lies ahead for Calum!!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

