In My Playlist: The Submarines

Name: The Submarines
From: Los Angeles, California, USA
Genre: Indie Pop, Indie Rock, Electronica, Folk
Years Active: 2006-present
Label(s): Nettwerk

It’s usually my sister who detects a good credit song in a movie. Most of the time, I just stop the movie the moment the credits roll. Such habit isn’t gone even now. You should have known the numerous outtakes that I’ve missed because I couldn’t care less of the barely readable list of people who made a certain film possible. Heck, I didn’t even know that Pitch Perfect had an outtake until I watched CinemaSins’ “Everything Wrong With Pitch Perfect”.

And another thing: I don’t really like a conversation-filled ending. Whether it’s a book or movie, it felt dragging to me. And that’s coming from someone who once made this 10-chapter original story in Wattpad that ended in one conversation-filled ending. So it was really great that I bore the last few minutes of Two Night Stand and didn’t stop it mid-conversation. Else, I probably wouldn’t be able to hear “Tigers” by The Submarines and I won’t know about the band.

The Submarines’ two members, Blake Hazard and John Dragonetti, were solo artists in Boston introduced to the other by a mutual friend. Their story is one of the romantic kind and it made my mind squeal like a ten-year-old when I was reading it.

Me minus a guy in the background.
Me minus the guy in the background.

But I don’t really want to dwell on that. It was their music that captivated me so much. “Tigers” was such a bittersweet song. The melancholic lyrics combined with the upbeat pop tune was so wonderful.

Their first album, Declare A New State, was more mellow and sad. It totally reflected those times after their breakup. I haven’t finished listening to the tracks of Honeysuckle Weeks yet but it’s in my playlist already. One particularly song from the album that has caught my attention is “You, Me & The Bourgeoisie”. Hopefully, I’d be able to listen to their third album, Love Notes/Letter Bombs of which “Tigers” is a track. Until then, I’ll be succumbing myself into what I have.

Share Your Thoughts

