Missing

Do you ever have that certain thing in your life that has always, always been there? Like your hair or maybe your thumb, you take its existence for granted because you know it’s there. That the odds of it leaving you or be gone from your life was near to zero. Then something happens and like a bubble, it’s gone. And you feel sick. Your stomach feels empty somehow, no matter how much food you’ll eat in a meal. Finding something else to fill the void it left in your life won’t do any good no matter how desperate you try to look for one. Because you know, deep inside, that it’s irreplaceable. So you’ll always go back to that point where you think about how it’s gone.

And you’ll miss it. So much that you realize how hard it is to live your life without that thing becoming a part of it.

In some people’s case, it might actually be their thumb. Most of you might have even thought that I’m talking about the love of my life. Most of you might have even been hit hard by what I said because it’s exactly what you are/were feeling.

But just to be clear, I’m talking about the Internet.

I wrote the first draft of this post in a place where Internet does not exist…yet. Five days of complete disconnection. While, its nonexistence is merely temporary, it’s still agitating to have no connection to the world and to my friends from far away. And my laptop is filled with nothing but movies I’ve already watched countless of times.

It’s a good thing I have dozens of novels to read. And I have enjoyed a lot of it greatly.

But still.

You live in a world so dependent on it, you’d thought there aren’t people out there who would not need the aid of the Internet. But there are. And I had more respect on those people than those in the previous generations who keep saying, “We didn’t have Internet back in our day and we lived.”

Don’t get me wrong, I love the seniors and I will always have a soft spot for them. But what some of them don’t understand is how there are certain things a certain generation is codependent of.  Back when television was new, the youths then cannot live without watching a show. (Where’d you expect television privileges came from?) Back when electricity was new, the people who could afford it then could not live groping in the dark and bringing lamps everywhere they go. And let’s not talk about when telephones was the main way to communicate your friends. Like those attached to the wall with the curly spirally wires.

Humanity’s way of life has changed vastly since the start of time and it continues—and will continue—to do so. Along the way, the youth of the time will grow up depending and needing the newest technology.

Right now, I’m just glad I’m back.

Share Your Thoughts

