10 Names that Sum Up My Love For YA Fictional Male Characters

Back when I was younger, I was the kind of kid that lusts over memo pads while the rest of my friends wanted a new Barbie doll or whatever new toy there was. Don’t get me wrong, I love my Barbie doll and the tiny Hot Wheels cars that I get from my brother’s basket of toys to play by my own. I still remember creating this love story between a Tesla Roadster and a Ferrari. But I really loved writing random stuff and doodling more. I still do and this blog itself is proof.

Most of the things written in my memo pads are lists (and my weekly budget because I was already an aspiring accountant at 11 years old). One time, I had a list of my top ten favorite characters. One list for the male and another for female. While my taste have probably changed after six years worth of reading more books and meeting more characters, there were some names on the list that had still remained even now.

This list will consist of male characters from different stories and novels who have earned a special place in my heart. Let me tell you right now, choosing who gets to be in the list and not is pretty hard.

So why YA, you might ask? Well, despite not reading much of them nowadays I have read quite a lot of YA books before and I loved most of the YA novels I have read. It’s just that most of the YA characters now don’t have the appeal that characters before have on me. With that said, I also want to make it clear that these are characters of novels I’ve already read. Also, they aren’t in any particular order.

  1. Percy Jackson (Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series by Rick Riordan)
    The original trio. How is it that I hardly ever see a great Grover Underwood fanart? (source)

    Percy, Percy, Percy. A well-beloved character to all fans of Rick Riordan. It’s quite obvious why he’s going to be a part of this list. For one thing, I’ve talked about Rick Riordan’s works in this blog more than once. Most of all, I love Percy. He’s sweet, sarcastic, strong, and owns a really big and kind heart. But mainly because he’s hilariously sarcastic.

  2. Etienne St. Clair (Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins)
    I’ll say it again: No English celebrities to portray Etienne in this blog. Ever. Now if it’s a really cool fanart…that’s a different case altogether. (source)

    Oh, Etienne. He’s in two lists already. I think I can’t get enough of Etienne. He’s funny, stubborn, and a really great friend. His childishness is cute. I just love him. Especially that part when he and Anna teased Lola and Cricket in Lola and the Boy Next Door. Fun fact, I had actually read Lola and the Boy Next Door first before Anna and the French Kiss. I didn’t even notice that the story was about Anna and Etienne so when I read “St. Clair” for the first time, I was jumping and crying, “Oh my god! It’s St. Clair! It’s their story! Why did I not know this?!”

  3. Nobody Owens (The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman)
    I’m excited to see the film adaptation of this. If they’re going to. (source)

    I love Nobody Owens even at the first chapter of the story when he was just a toddler. He’s a curious kid like every other kid. But he’s also smart and observant. You see him grow up throughout the book and that’s how I got attached to him.

  4. Josh Newman (The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel Series by Michael Scott)

    This was from the book trailer of The Alchemyst. God, I cringed on every book trailers I’ve seen.

    Josh Newman definitely has an extra special place in my heart. For those who have yet to read the series, I’ll tell you now: READ IT. It’s magnificent and mind-blowing. Josh started out in the series as this seriously bratty kid but then he grew to become this boy who was merely afraid and wanted things to get back to normal but that could never happen so he had to make the move himself. And that was serious character development.

  5. Loki Staad (Trylle Trilogy by Amanda Hocking)

    I take it back. The Switched book trailer was tolerable and Loki (though not so blond) was more than tolerable.
    I take it back. The Switched book trailer was tolerable and Loki (though not really blond) was more than tolerable. Would you look at that eyes…?

    Loki was definitely mischievous and playful the moment he appeared in the second book. I liked him instantly and I like him more than Finn. He also cares a lot about Wendy and hopes for peace between Trylle and Vittra.

  6. Harry Potter (Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling)

    No caption needed, bro.

    To be honest, Harry Potter is not really big for me. I grew up watching and reading about his adventures and see him grow up myself. He’s more like a childhood friend to me. I don’t admire him as much as the rest of the characters in this list because you see how things were laid out in front of him to figure out the mysteries surrounding him. But he is really brave so I’ll give him that.

  7. Peter Townsend (My Blood Approves Series by Amanda Hocking)

    I can’t find any Peter Townsend images that is related to the series. So I’ll go with this.

    Despite the fact that author Amanda Hocking has not finished the series yet (I’m glaring at you right now, Amanda), I know and I think everyone who have been following the series know that Peter won’t get the girl. But I still love him a lot. He’s loyal, noble, maybe a tad bit old-fashioned and slightly mysterious but he is concerned for his family and that’s what I like about him.

  8. Klaus Baudelaire (Lemony Snicket: A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket)
    Klaus is, hands down, smart and clever. He’s also the most calculating among the Baudelaire orphans. And I just like how he is illustrated as this really short kid. It seemed more accurate than in the movie adaptation. Nevertheless, I still like Liam Aiken’s portrayal.
  9. Leo Valdez (Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan)

    (source)

    Oh, Leo. He is not just the third wheel or the fifth. He was the seventh wheel. But still, he was insanely funny and definitely thoughtful of his friends. That last stunt of him, though made things questionable. I sure hope things were okay in the end. But I love him still.

  10. Harry Cartwright (The Trouble With Flirting by Claire Lazebnik)

    This is the book cover. That girl is not Harry Cartwright, okay?

    Harry Cartwright was one of those mischievous and frequently smirking characters. But rereading the book, you realize his plain interest on our heroine. He kind of reminds me of Etienne in some ways.

8 thoughts on “10 Names that Sum Up My Love For YA Fictional Male Characters

    1. I’ve been thinking of the same thing! ^_^ The YA lit IS a huge landscape and it has also been a while for me to visit the YA sections of any bookstore. 🙂

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

