Book Review: Rush by Emma Scott

So many times it happened on this blog when I click the “New Post” icon with a certain thing or topic in mind but then I start typing. The words and ideas aren’t what I was initially going for. And yet they were good, I guess, because people seem to like them. For instance? Your Self vs Your Labels (and your “About Me”s) was supposed to be an overly depressing post. I already forgot what topic I was going for but I remember it was just, ugh, so depressing. But it ended up the way it is now for some reason I cannot really explain. 

This review is also a good example. I was about to make a book review of Rush a few days ago when…I don’t know. I guess, the goddess of blogging came down to me and said in her serene, Galadriel-like voice, “Sh-sh-sh. No, Kate. Tell them why you haven’t rated any book 5 stars yet, child. Tell them.” It took me two to three days after reading it to completely move on about the book and when I was ready to write a review, nothing came to mind (and the goddess of blogging intervened). And I mean this in the best way possible.

Rush tells the story of Charlotte Conroy, a Juillard-trained violinist, and Noah Lake, an extreme sports athlete, journalist and photographer. Charlotte was on the verge of greatness with a promising career as a concert violinist, a wonderful and supporting family, and the man she thought was The One. Until the tragedy happened and everything fell away and crushed her, the music in her soul lost. Noah wakes up from a coma resulting from a cliff-dive to find his career and dreams thrown out of the window, leaving behind a world of endless blackness that will never lift. “The life he knew is over. The life she wants is just out of reach. Together, they must face their fears and rediscover what it means to really live.”

Reading the blurb, I expected an overused plotline. Bitter guy being saved by a big-hearted girl and both are suffering from something and happily-ever-after. But in between a fairly good start and a very predictable ending, this book flourished and progressed oh-so wonderfully. You know what I said in the previous post about a book that could connect to me in such a way that no other book can? Well, this one did.

I’m happy that there weren’t much of the suspense that was present in the previous books. Not because I don’t like them, but because I honestly think that the main conflict in Rush revolves around the battle these two characters were fighting inside and between the two of them. And I’m extremely happy that the author took that route because it made the book a whole lot better in my opinion.

There were moments when the pacing was dragging me out and I keep thinking, “What’s gonna happen? What’s gonna happen?” But I believe that it did the book good. Granted, it was torture to me but a very sweet and slow torture. It was this kind of thinking that made me get hooked on the story. I also feel like there were parts of the story that seemed irrelevant and just stretched out the book. But other than that, the book is pure gold. Especially the ending. Oh gawd, the ending made my heart melt and I’ll tell you now very few book endings made my heart melt. This book might come to a close second after the ending to The Enchantress by Michael Scott. (Hey, look at that. Scott, too!)

Rush was definitely one of the most touching and moving contemporary romance and new adult story I’ve ever read for a long time. I loved the protagonists. They had depth, were relatable, and very much real. And this has always been one of Emma Scott’s greatest points. And the pure emotional effect this story had on me made it her best book so far.

5/5

(Yes, the 5 stars. Why’d you think it took me so long to make a review of this? I was experiencing an internal conflict myself. Which resulted to the goddess of blogging’s not-so-divine intervention that resulted to posting that post. *Lorde’s voice* So there.)


Note: This ARC copy was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review. Rush is the third book in Emma Scott’s series, City Lights, following Love Beyond Words and Unbreakable respectively. Other than a mention of a character in the first book, Rush is a stand-alone novel. It will be out on June 30 so check it out.

One thought on “Book Review: Rush by Emma Scott

Share Your Thoughts

