Sayaka Ouhito: The Charm on Her Greenery-filled Illustrations

Although, I’ve had other artists that I have recognized and liked before her, it was actually discovering Sayaka Ouhito’s artworks in Pinterest that made me think of creating Art Appreciation. I think it’s only fitting that my first ever post is about her

Sayaka Ouhito is a Japanese illustrator whose works has become famous throughout Tumblr, Pinterest, and Pixiv–despite the language barrier between her blog and the rest of the world outside Japan (particularly those who can’t read Japanese like moi). This particular work of hers below was the first of her many artworks that have captivated me. It reminded me so much of Hayao Miyazaki. The forest, the swamp, the very atmosphere… But then there’s an added delicateness and fragility to it. And I think this is the charm of Ms. Sayaka Ouhito’s works.

So when I typed her name on Pinterest’s search bar, I was delightfully surprised with what I saw. Her works were just teeming with plants and trees! And I guess having a tree or two in an illustration doesn’t normally come off as a shock but read that sentence again: teeming, I tell you. TEEMING. Greenery is a constant part of her illustrations’ backgrounds and that adds to the rustic charm that her works have. I just love them. Sayaka Ouhito is a great example of how an art is downright full of impact when it could speak for itself. It’ll be nice to see more of her works.

For more on Sayaka Ouhito visit her: Blog | Pixiv Account


Note: I do not own any of the illustrations shown above. Everything is rightfully owned by the artist.

To learn more about Art Appreciation, click here.

5 thoughts on “Sayaka Ouhito: The Charm on Her Greenery-filled Illustrations

    1. I’m sorry, I don’t quite understand your question. 🙂 Do you mean what inspired Sayaka to draw or what inspired me to feature her and her works?

      Liked by 1 person

        1. I was overwhelmed by the abundance of plants, I guess. 🙂 And her style really does reminds me of Hayao Miyazaki’s.

          Like

Share Your Thoughts

