Book Review: Geek Girl by Cindy C. Bennett

From Goodreads: “Think I can turn that boy bad?” 17-year-old Jen turns her life upside down when, out of boredom, she makes a bet that she can turn school geek Trevor into someone like her. Instead, the goth girl finds herself sucked into his world of sci-fi movies, charity work, and even -ugh!- bowling. To truly belong with him -and with her new foster family- she must first come to terms with her violent past.

Admit it. At some point in your life, you have judged a book by its cover…or its blurb. Or both. I admittedly have a few times. I am even guilty of veering away from those YA novels with Tumblr-esque fonts and titles taken from songs. Those are the books that are commonly swarmed by most kids my age. I usually go to the fantasy section first. Particularly Children’s Fiction because those are the kind of books that I love. Or I just go to that other bookstore that sells diamond-in-the-rough kind of books that aren’t mainstream famous. Then there are books that I immediately get my hands on without questioning its greatness or reading reviews. A great example: any of Rick Riordan’s works–because who the heck needs to question the awesomeness of Rick Riordan’s works?

This novel was one of those books that I’ve accidentally stumbled upon, doubted its content because of the blurb, and got it anyway because, “Ehh, why not?”. I’ve read lots of books that fall to that same category and ended up either liking it or being disappointed in it. Jennifer Crusie’s Bet Me was one of those that I ended up liking and Chanda Hahn’s UnEnchanted was an example of the latter.

Geek Girl started out shaky and I didn’t know whether to like it or not. If this book was search engine optimized for nerds and geeks, it would definitely be one of the top searches because both words have been used oh-so repeatedly. The plot was used so many times and the ending is predictable.

But as the story progressed, I started seeing where this was going and I liked it. I like the characters. Jen was this hard-on-the-inside-soft-on-the-outside kind of girl who was keeping up her tough facade and she was so relatable (because aren’t we all hiding behind facades in at least one point of our lives?). Trevor was this kinda awkward good-guy nerd and I always have a soft spot for good guys. You’d think it was a typical rebel-and-geek love story and at a bigger scale it really is but the treasure hides behind the author’s writing.

Cindy Bennett has made a great and fun read from a fairly typical high school love story. She has interwoven serious issues onto a comically wonderful book. And I was extra glad that there weren’t any of those awful sex scenes that are present in some YA books I’ve read–those were just unreal and too meh. Instead, Geek Girl was an entirely easy and heart-warming read. It’s a great book for those who want to read something quick and fun and absolutely enjoyable.

3.5/5

Share Your Thoughts

