After Watching: Inside Out

It’s been a long time since I talked about movie-related stuff here, huh? Like… (checks posts) more than a month ago. And the reason for this is because of my limited time to watch movies. I might not have told you guys this but I don’t just watch one movie per day. I need to watch at least two movies everyday. It’s a weird thing to do, I know. But that’s how I am and the reason why I haven’t been watching anything lately is because I don’t have the time (glares at college).

Last night, I watched two feature films and a short film namely, HerInside Out and Lava. As you can see with the choices I’ve made, these movies all trigger the tear ducts. And trigger they did. But I want to talk about Inside Out here since this story dug deeper into me than the other two. And made me want to cry the most (though I didn’t since I wasn’t watching it alone).

Inside Out is mainly set in the mind of 11-year-old Riley where a quintet of emotions dwell in the Headquarters (Oh my god, Headquarters. It’s in Riley’s head and they sleep there–a.k.a quarters! Good pun job, Docter.) Their job is to balance Riley’s emotions as best as they can and keep her happy. And they did that during life-changing events  that comes with moving to a new city.

I am proud to say that I’ve watched every single Pixar movie there is and that’s because I like them all so much…with Cars 2 being fairly tolerable. Pixar has never been afraid to explore feelings and their significance. There was even this meme post that describes Pixar’s movies and while this is funny. It is, in some sense, also true.

via Google Images (source)

Delving into profound and deeply emotional issues such as abandonment and existential crises while keeping the fun and the witty humor, Pixar has been known to make children squeal in laughter and grown-ups cry their eyes out. In Inside Out, I didn’t expect that there would be none of those but I also didn’t expect the heart-crushing, soul-breaking moments that comes along with the scenes that made me laugh out loud.

It’s amazing how many tears adults have shed for this particular Pixar movie. You could just find them all over the Internet and their comments are simply hilarious. In the eyes of a schadenfreude child, seeing and witnessing adults that melt into their puddle of tears because of a children’s movie is just so fun. But for those of us who are old enough to decipher the poignant element from the hilarious film, you know that it’s as much a movie for kids as it is for the teenagers and adults. It is this kind of quality in a Pixar film that has not stood out for some time now and has really outshone in Inside Out.

And I know that it’s been all over the Internet now but I’ll keep this short and non-spoiler as much as I could for the benefit of those who have yet to see Inside Out: Bing Bong (Oh gawd, Bing Bong) made my heart wrench the most. Just keep out for Bing Bong, people who haven’t seen Inside Out.

How I felt after watching Inside Out.
Exactly how I felt after watching Inside Out.
3 thoughts on “After Watching: Inside Out

Share Your Thoughts

