Nekopuchi: The Undisputed Master of Makoto Kikuchi Illustration

(Look at that! Third post of the day. I sure am on fire today!)

I fell in love with digital anime art around four or five years ago via Google Images and DeviantArt. While the concept wasn’t new to me at the time, with computer animated movies such as Toy Story and Finding Nemo already existing, the anime during those times still have the hand-made element to them. I was fascinated by the clean lines made by the various paint software such as PaintSai Tool paired with photo-editing software like Adobe Photoshop. At the time, I wasn’t even aware of the existence of YouTubers yet as I only watch time-lapsed videos of both digital and traditional art.

WHO?
Nekopuchi is a Japanese illustrator known for his tremendous skill in digital art. Another thing that Nekopuchi is famous for is his undying love for Kikuchi Makoto, one of the characters in a widely known video game, The iDOLM@STER. This serious case of “Makoto-mania” is apparent in his works. Personally, when I first saw his works in Pinterest, I thought that the artist simply likes drawing short-haired girls or that maybe “she” is a short-haired girl. I am not well-versed with video games adapted into animes though I’ve heard about The iDOLM@STER before. Still, you could see the skill that he possesses.

WHAT’S SO GOOD?
His style in digital art is quite different from other digital anime artworks that I’ve seen. There is a certain feel of realism with the lighting and texture of his works. The folds of the clothes and the soft tones are of impeccable quality without really loosing the anime-ness of the illustrations. His work below was what caught my attention amidst all other digital anime artworks.

While I honestly love his works, it would be nice to see more that are not of Makoto Kikuchi. But his passion for her was one of things that drives him to draw. And that, I could totally understand–whether it’s on books, music, movies or people.


For more on Nekopuchi visit his: Blog | Pixiv Account | Twitter


Note: I do not own any of the illustrations shown above. Everything is rightfully owned by the artist.

To learn more about Art Appreciation, click here.

3 thoughts on “Nekopuchi: The Undisputed Master of Makoto Kikuchi Illustration

Share Your Thoughts

