A world of filters

I know that the first thing that would come up on the mind of an average person–or an average teenager, specifically–when I say the word ‘filter’ is ‘selfie’. Or ‘photo editing’. And likely so because that’s how the word is commonly used nowadays. And I want to talk about that. Not selfies; I’m not in the mood to rant about social media. I meant filters. (Because, duh, it’s in the title.)

Yesterday in my Psychology class (and you might be wondering how an Accounting student got a Psychology course. Well, don’t ask me; it was in the curriculum), our professor gave us an assignment where we have to think about a certain person in our lives that did something to us–something that hurt us. The first person that came to my mind was this one person I’ll call in this post “B Person”. But after thinking about it, I resorted to writing about another person I’ll call “G Person”. The magnitude of what “G” did to me was trivial compared to what “B” did. But I did my homework about her instead. Why is that?

One word: Filter.

Y-yeaahh…close enough.

I’m the type of person who doesn’t want to bare my entire feelings to strangers. I am not comfortable with sharing my most private thoughts to anyone who I know wouldn’t give a cent about it. There’s also the fact that I’m a calculated coward. I’m afraid that the possibility of people thinking bad of me will be high and I don’t risk that. In situations similar to the Psychology assignment, I usually think, “Why should I mention about that hen I can mention about something less intense?”

It got me thinking about how I live my life. Though I don’t really post that much selfies in social media, I do filter my life. Only in a less digital way. I choose the words I say depending on the people I’m with. I choose the expressions I wear depending on what the situation needs. I choose what I share to others because, oftentimes even if I consider them friends, I still don’t know them enough to trust them.

I could count the people I’ve bared the 70% of the entire emotional aspect of my life with one hand–four. And that’s merely 70%. I even filtered the names of the people I mentioned on this post because I know there are people who personally knows me that are reading this. (Hi, Lil! :D) And there are the people that I don’t want to know who I’m talking about. I try to look at other people and I know everybody wears their own masks. A facade they keep when they aren’t alone. And that’s a filter of its own kind, too. How we act and don’t act, what you wear and don’t wear…basically, every aspect in our lives has a filter or two. Like, even if you put #NoFilter on your picture, you might be hiding behind the smile and good vibes that the picture creates and that’s a filter too, right?

This is not intended to be a bitter post, by the way. It’s just that after thinking about it, it makes sense that we live in a world of filters. We are all so guarded and wary of everyone around us. But every once in a while, we find a hole on the mask–an aperture to which we could see into the depth of a person’s hidden self. That vulnerability and rawness are what creates the bond that we have to others. And if you look at it that way, don’t you think that filters are great too?

If this doesn’t convince you, then I don’t know what will. via (source)
3 thoughts on “A world of filters

Share Your Thoughts

