10 Novels/Series that Sum Up My Love For Adventure (without going out of the house)

So I just took the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) personality test a few days ago for my Psychology class and guess what:

For those who can't see it clearly, it says: Extrovert 0 Introvert 9. 
For those who can’t see it clearly, it says: Extrovert 0 Introvert 9.

It’s not that I find this test to be accurate. I couldn’t care less if a couple mother-daughter academics created the test. To me, it’s nearly the same as those “What Game of Thrones character are you?” type of quizzes that was abundant in Facebook before. In fact, I’ve already taken this test thrice in my life–during the Guidance Counselor’s Evaluation in my senior year in high school, out of random a few weeks ago after reading this article from Thought Catalog (I freakin’ love Thought Catalog), and last Friday for our Psychology class.

I remember having varying results from the three different times I’ve took this test: ISFJ, INTJ, and ISTJ respectively. But there are two things that are sure among the three. One, I’m a Judging person (the J). And two, I’m definitely an introvert.

I once talked about how I am the kind of person who doesn’t leave the house unless absolutely necessary and that’s true. If I ever considered myself as a wanderlust, it’s in the sense of being addicted to adventure that I take sifting through cream pages blotted with black printed letters. And that’s okay for me. Someday, I’ll be able to go to the places I’ve only read in books. But until then, I’m happy to just jump into different worlds and live in different lives.

Awwwe. That was so sentimental of me. Anyway, here are 10 stand-alone novels/series that sum up my love for non-physical-transition adventure. And, as I always do this kind of list-posts, in no particular order.

  1. Percy Jackson and the Olympians & Heroes of the Olympus Series by Rick Riordan
    I’m putting these two series together in one number since they are kinda related to each other. I know this may not be SO OBVIOUS here in this blog since, well, I don’t mention these series too often. But I reallyreallyreally like these books. The characters have been across the States, and even went to freakin’ Greece and Rome in the most awe-freakingly-some modes of transportation. Hippocampi, centaurs, Argo II…my ultimate favorite transportation used in all installments? THE BUBBLES GIVEN BY NEREID.
  2. Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
    The moment I slid through the wall between Platforms 9 and 10 at King’s Cross (mentally) was the milestone step to having my first adventure. And I was one of the lucky ones to have living in Hogwarts with The Boy Who Lived as my first ever adventure.
  3. The Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan
    There’s a different sense of adventure in this series compared to the Greek Mythology series of Rick. For one thing, they have obelisks as portals. And Sadie and Carter could use the Duat to travel and store items there. And isn’t that awesome? It’s like the cloud except you could actually put and store legit tactile items in it.
  4. From The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg
    This one’s a different kind of adventure, I guess. Two siblings ran away from home and went to the Metropolitan Museum of Art and lived there for a few days. It was really nice since I’ve never imagined running away from home myself. Although I remember my sister attempting to when we were younger after having a heated argument with my little brother’s babysitter.
  5. Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott
    Ley lines as portals, another dimension for the gods, and time-travelling? Not to mention going all over America and Europe in the entire six-book series. Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel was definitely one of the most exhilarating adventure novels I’ve read. The series just gave me so many additional places to add in my future round-the-world itinerary: the catacombs, the Flamels’ house in Paris, and Stone Henge.
  6. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
    I absolutely loved this book. I might have to finish reading the American Gods, too. My favorite part in the novel is when Nobody became invisible and escaped the bad guys.
  7. A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket
    The Baudelaire orphans were one of my ideal fictional characters. Being so resourceful and clever in escaping the clutches of Count Olaf. And they’re making a TV series adaptation for it too! By the way, my sister also made a longer post of the series in her own blog. So if you want to read it… (supportive sister here ;])
  8. Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins
    This is one of those books that I’ve read in our university library. The other one I’ve mentioned was Matthew Kirby’s IcefallThey actually have the second installment of the series but I haven’t finished reading that. Because, you know, Accounting.
  9. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
    I’m just going to put the first novel of the series since I haven’t had the time to finish all of the sequels yet. I’m actually still in the second book. Shameful, I know. But my priorities are a little messed up as some of you might know. I’m getting the grips gradually and maybe I’ll be able to read a few pages this week…of any of my currently reading books. Sigh.
  10. Graceling Fire by Kristin Cashore
    These are the first two books of Kristin Cashore’s Graceling Realm series. I haven’t had the chance to grab a copy of the third book. But I’m planning to, sooner rather than later. These books, Graceling in particular, really sealed the deal for my love of the fantasy adventure genre. I remember being inspired by Kristin Cashore’s wonderful world and wrote my own story set in a made-up world about this strong female protagonist who moonlit as a Robin Hood-esque thief. I think I have the prologue written in my Wattpad account. But anyway that girl’s still alive in my imagination but I don’t think I have enough writing skill to be the honorable scribe of the adventures she has taken.
One thought on “10 Novels/Series that Sum Up My Love For Adventure (without going out of the house)

Share Your Thoughts

