Tatsuya Tanaka: The Detailed Wonder with Everyday Objects

I’ve been meaning to feature this artist for a long time. If I’m being totally honest, I’ve been meaning to feature him ever since I’ve read an article about him a couple of weeks ago. So far, I’ve been featuring artists who focus more on digital art and illustrations. Now, I want to feature a Japanese photographer whose subjects are everyday objects…with a little—miniature, if you will—twist. And yes, it’s another Japanese artist. I can’t help it. There are just so many talented people in Japan that I really loved. But don’t worry, I’ll be delving more into other artists from other places in the world later on. For now, I want you to be reveled by the wonderful works of Tatsuya Tanaka.

WHO?

Tatsuya Tanaka is an art director, designer and photographer based on Kagoshima, Japan. He is best known for his photography project called “Miniature Calendar” where he uploads one images  everyday for nearly 5 years. He has also published a photobook entitled, “Miniature Life”.

WHAT’S SO GOOD?

It’s no wonder that Tatsuya Tanaka’s “Miniature Calendar” has already been featured in various web magazines like The Huffington Post and Mashable. His works spark an interest to anyone who have seen it (if you haven’t, you soon will a few scrolls below.) The kind of creativity and uniqueness in this project is beyond anything I’ve seen. Tanaka has created a miniature world where a broccoli could be a tree and paper clips and a staple wire together makes up an escalator.

I mean, come on, that’s amazing! It’s such a fun thing to see and it gives you a little enjoyment in your life. To me, these dioramas are like bite-size appetizers before digging in to the main course of creativity. The difference is, while most appetizers in fancy restaurants are unsatisfying to me, these tiny images could already satisfy my appetite for art for a day. Speaking of appetite, my ultimate favorite ones are those that uses food. Simply because. Imagine if you’re living in a world where a bread island or a bridge made of chocolate-coated pretzels exist…that world would be one step closer to becoming one where unicorns exist. And that’s AWESOME.

Oh gee, what I wouldn’t give for a takuyaki island!

For more on Tatsuya Tanaka visit his: Website | Facebook | Instagram

You can also buy his book, Miniature Life, in Amazon.


Note: I do not own any of the illustrations shown above. Everything is rightfully owned by the artist. Support them! 😀 To learn more about Art Appreciation, click here.

2 thoughts on “Tatsuya Tanaka: The Detailed Wonder with Everyday Objects

Share Your Thoughts

