6 Supporting Characters That I Like More Than The Protagonists

There are just certain moments when the supporting characters in a story are the better characters. Sometimes, it’s the fault of the author for creating a supporting character with more depth than the protagonist. Sometimes, it’s the fault of the reader to feel more connected to the supporting character than he is with the main character.

And I have gone through novels encountering better supporting characters by both ways. Below are some supporting characters in a novel or book series that I liked more than the protagonists in no particular order.

  1. Zuzana Nováková and Mikolas Vavra (Daughter of Smoke & Bone Trilogy by Laini Taylor)
    I don’t see any good Mik fanart and this one was used by Laini Taylor herself. (c) Jim Di Bartolo

    These couple were hilarious! I honestly enjoyed the entire trilogy but the accompanying novella about how they both officially met and got together was even more wonderful. Don’t get me wrong, Karou was a great protagonist. Zuz and Mik are just better characters in my opinion.

  2. Jasper (The Girl At Midnight by Melissa Grey)
    Am I the only one who's imagining Echo to have short hair and pixie face? (c) Blairaptor
    Am I the only one who’s imagining Echo to have short hair and pixie face? (c) Blairaptor

    When I was first introduced to Jasper, I thought he and Echo had a romantic history but, boy, am I wrong! Jasper was a comic relief to a group of uber-serious people. His character is as colorful as his feathers and I love him.

  3. Loki Staad (Trylle Trilogy by Amanda Hocking)
    Oh, god. He is the hottest actor for any book trailer I’ve ever seen.

    Loki first appeared in the second novel of the trilogy and when he did, I felt hope rising for Wendy’s love life. I hate Flynn. I don’t care how electric he was to Wendy. I hate him. Loki was far better and funnier. He was mischievous when he thinks you need a lighter mood and serious when the atmosphere asks for him to be.

  4. Haymitch Abernathy (The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins)
    Yeah, yeah. You might argue that Katniss Everdeen was one of the best YA heroines ever. But, let’s face it. The Girl On Fire will not be so if it weren’t for the truth-and-wisdom-wrapped-in-insults words spouting out of Haymitch’s alcohol-reeking mouth. Woody Harrelson couldn’t have been a better actor for the role.
  5. Hermione Granger (Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling) (for those who doesn’t know)
    I wanted to say, “You don’t see any student as eager as her” but now that I’m studying Accounting, I actually do. A lot of her.

    No contest. Harry would have taken a long time to figure out things if Hermione wasn’t around. Opening trapdoors, Polyjuice Potion, the Time Turner…I could make a whole other list for the things Hermione contributed to the development of the series’s plot. And, she’s badass even without any weapons.

These are the only people I could think of right now. And as you can see, I counted right this time. Unlike before when I just threw off the entire purpose of having numbers. In case you haven’t noticed, these are all characters from novels. I’ll doing another similar list soon. This time, of characters from television series and films.

How about you? You have any supporting character that you like more than the protagonist? Let me know in the comments below!

Share Your Thoughts

