Book Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

It is the morning after I finished this book. My eyes feel puffy and my heart feels heavy. For obvious reasons.


Me Before You by Jojo Moyesimage

Published on: 30 July 2013
Published by: Penguin Books
ISBN: 0143124544
Pages: 369
Genre: Adult Fiction, Romance, Contemporary
Add it on: Goodreads
Buy it on: Amazon | Book Depository
Favorite quote: “I will never, ever regret the things I’ve done. Because most days, all you have are places in your memory that you can go to.”

Me Before You tells the story of Louisa Clark, a twenty seven year old who still doesn’t have her life together. When she lost her job in the cafe, she was forced to find another work to help out with her parents. And she found a good-paying job in caring for quadriplegic Will Traynor, a miserable, sarcastic young man who makes Louisa’s everyday life hell.


If you’ve read or at least heard about this book, you’ll know that it made many readers break down and cry. I was one of those people.

But first let me talk about the technicalities. The story was written out very smoothly. The pacing was not too fast nor too slow for me and it has been a pretty quick read for me in a long time. The characters were relatable in all their quirkiness, egocentric and self-absorbed personalities, and gradually, as we see their insecurities and personal issues unfold, they grew into these characters that became well-developed by the events that will happen.

The plot was simple enough yet it carries the heavy emotional aspect of this book really well all throughout the novel.

Now onto the heavy emotional part.

This is the second time that I bawled like crazy because of a novel this year but unlike in The Knife of Never Letting Go, there were lots of controversies hanging around the emotional part of the story.

You would think that this story is about hope or the strength of love or being a disabled person but no. Ultimately, this novel tells us an entirely different angle on life and our right to live it.

Still, I’m unable to understand the thought that goes through a person who thinks the way Will think. I could never comprehend it. All throughout reading the second half of the novel, in my mind, I just keep thinking, “Why?” And I think that was what really made me emotional mostly. I was riled up and angry and stubborn to try to look at the dominating issue in the novel the other way. I still am.

In the back of my mind, I get it. I know Will’s reasons. But that Why rings predominantly and overwhelmingly in my head.

Overall, the story was more than good and it left me in a satisfied state at the very last word. The covers of the book, both the UK and US edition, did not do the book any justice. But other than that, the novel was near perfect. Me Before You was an emotional roller coaster ride of a sweet love story. It was frustrating, sad, funny, thought-provoking and downright wonderful.

Apparently, there’s a sequel for this which doesn’t make any sense to me because this novel was wrapped up perfectly and neatly. I’ll probably read more of Jojo Moyes’ books but I don’t think I’ll ready to read the sequel anytime soon.

4 stars

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

    1. Thank you so much 🙂 It’s been months and the movie is out but I still haven’t touched the sequel of this book haha

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

