Children’s Fiction is not only for children.

Children’s fiction are definitely one of those few genres that are strained by its suggested “age parameters”. At five to nine, we inhale these books along with their digestible stories and moral lessons. But then by the time we’re adults, and in some people’s cases by late teens, we let them go for the chaptered chronicles, the sophisticated stories, the pejorative prose, and witty words (high-five for the alliterations anyone?).

I’ve said it in this blog so many times and I won’t be tired of saying it again. And again. And again.

Children’s fiction novels are not only for children.

I mean, sure, they are specifically catered to kids from ages 5 to 9 and the Middle Grade genre are for kids ages 10 to 14 but just because these books are meant for kids does not make them “unacceptable” to be read by adults.

For instance, Oscar award-winning animated film Inside Out is a film both for kids and adults alike. Heck, almost every Pixar films and every Hayao Miyazaki films are for kids and adults alike. The fact that animated movies are stereotyped to be only for kids did not stop the filmmakers in Pixar and Studio Ghibli to create movies that will entertain every age.

And I think the same goes for literature.

It didn’t stop Dr. Seuss and Shel Silverstein and Antoine de Saint-Exupéry and Roald Dahl.

I haven’t read most of the children’s classics but I have read some of the best in this age like Coraline and The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman which are just…👌 I’ve also watched The Boxtrolls which is a movie adaptation of Here Be Monsters! which I plan on reading…sometime soon. When Accounting releases me for summer vacation. (sobs in the corner)

Personally, I find no shame in holding a book for kids and flaunting it in public. So they don’t make me look as smart as that dude holding the latest copy of The Wall Street Journal. So?

I love books. If I find them good (or more than good), I will never be ashamed of carrying them with me. Whatever genre they may have.


This post is inspired by this article from The Reading Room. They’ve got a list of children’s books that adults can enjoy too along with moral lessons that both children and adults can take from the amazing books. 🙂


YOUR TURN! What are some of your favorite books as a kid? And what are the Children’s fiction books that you enjoy now as a grownup? Let’s discuss~

2016 discussion challenge

One thought on “Children’s Fiction is not only for children.

Share Your Thoughts

