The Blog Revamp: A Summary and What I Learned

Last Tuesday, I have finally finished revamping my blog. Which means the end of this project. It was absolutely fun and I have learned so many things these past few weeks.

To end, I want to summarize the changes in my blog as well as some lessons I’ve learned along the way. If you like, you can take them as tips if you plan on making huge changes on your own blog. But I’ll tell you now, these lessons aren’t much.

For one thing, I’m still a noob. For another, I have the capability to be a complete idiot sometimes. So maybe to some of these lessons you’ll be like, “Gurl, I already know that. Come on!”

But anyway, here they are.

+ New theme. I am currently using the Gateway theme with its default colors of pink, black and white. It’s an awesome theme and has almost every feature I need.

Lesson: To avoid constantly changing your theme (like I do), list down what and how you want your blog to look. It’s like a grocery list–acquire everything you need in one go instead of going back just for the soy sauce.

+ Header image

+ Color palette. I wanted my own color palette, something at least a bit different from the standard colors of my theme. And with the help of Adobe Color CC, I got this blue-green-ish, teal-ish color that’s SO lovely and matches so well with the pink.

Pretty Blue Color
Isn’t it pwetty? 😆

Lesson: Before you rush into making the header image or whatever else, consider your blog’s color palette, first and foremost. (That way you won’t have to change your header multiple times, Kate.)

+ Header image. At first I went for this watercolor uber-girly look, all pink and a brush font. It was really pretty. But after some serious consideration, I decided to settle at the borderline between girly and not.

Lessons: The header image is the centerpiece of your blog’s aesthetics and brand. If your blog is a book, the header is the book cover. Think thoroughly what kind of impression you want to leave to visitors.

Also, take note of your theme’s preferred dimensions. It helps to prevent cropped out headers (Okay, Kate? Remember that.)

+ About page and sidebar profile. I feel like I’m the only one who worries too much about my About page. I’ve seen others’ and they’re all works of art. (Like seriously. How do you guys do it?!)

The problem I had with mine before was how I sound so cold and informal so I had to change that.

Lesson: If you go to Pinterest and search for blogging tips, you’ll find many how-to articles about writing “the perfect About page.” But really, no kind of format can ever make your About page more authentic and more you than just writing it the way you would. Make it sound like you. This is the best thing you could ever do with an About page or your blog’s entirety, really. (I learned that after 15+ revisions of the page.)

So those are the huge changes here in my blog, looks-wise! You might also know about those tiny changes I mentioned before. But even if this little revamp project of mine is done, I still have so many things to learn. As they say, a blog is always a work-in-progress, right? 😉

Happy scrolling, awesome peeps! 💃

18 thoughts on “The Blog Revamp: A Summary and What I Learned

        1. It really depends on a number of things. Like the type of content you will have on your blog. Will you have lots of photos? Or will it usually be heavier on words?
          Also, try thinking of the features you want for your blog. For example, maybe you want to make use of excerpts or a special home page or a theme with three column footer.
          I see that you’re relatively new and have only a few published. I recommend looking through different blogs, especially those in your niche. Take note of the features they have that you want to incorporate into yours. That’s usually a great start.
          I hope this helps 🙂 if you have more questions, my inbox is open. You can go to my contact page for that. Happy blogging! 😊

          Like

Share Your Thoughts

