That One Blogging Advice I Never Follow

There are tons of blogging advices out there but I find that you can really just condense them all into five fundamental advices:

+ Build a presence that’s totally you
+ Create a simple yet smart blog design
+ Learn the technical basics (SEO, HTML, CSS)
+ Engage in the community
+ Choose a niche

I’m slowly working on the first four and hopefully I’ll be able to apply what I learned into my blog. And then there’s the last fundamental blog advice. Now you all know where this is going, don’t you?

Nicheless Blogging

But first, storytime.


The Girl and the Niche

Once upon a time, in a faraway kingdom of memes and cat videos, there lived a fourteen-year-old girl who was fascinated with the amazing people dwelling in one huge part of the kingdom called Blogosphere. She wanted to be one of them so she scoured every resource she could find in the large library of Google, reading three books at a time about blogging. And when she was finally confident with all she learned, she started to create a blog about anime and manga. That was going to be her niche, she decided. She was excited at first.

But later on, she was disheartened. Maintaining her tiny space was slowly becoming a chore. And her blog wasn’t teeming with people like the other blogs are. She decided to leave her tiny space, now empty and deserted.


If you haven’t realized it yet, I’m that girl. And long story short: there’s bad history between me and niche blogging. When I did return into the blogging world, I decided I wasn’t going to have a niche blog. Been there, done that, and didn’t like it.

It’s not like I’m campaigning against having a niche blog or something. True, there are a lot of people who succeeded by choosing a niche. And to be fair, it was not the entire reason for the fallout of my first blog.

I was a complete noob then. I was like a one-year-old trying to drive a truck.

It’s just that having a niche—even a micro-niche—is a tried and tested formula for online success. And business-wise, it’s a good move to do, especially when you have a product to promote. But is it good for me? I’m only here to have a creative channel for the many things I’m passionate about and to (maybe, hopefully) help others in the process. So…I don’t fit into the equation, do I?

The sad thing with this whole “Having a Niche is Important” preach is the idea that there is only one way to be successful. And if you don’t do it, you’ll supposedly never fulfill your dream to be an online rockstar.

I call bullcrap on that.

That’s like saying there’s only one way to find x. Or one way to cook fried chicken. Well, what if I’ll cook it in a casserole instead of a frying pan? It will still be fried and will still taste good! (Except…it probably won’t because I suck at cooking.) The same goes for blogging.

The thing is: the conventional way isn’t The Only Way. And that applies to a lot of things, not only in blogging.

Deciding to do the unconventional is risky and scary. And believe me, having a nicheless blog is scary–sometimes even stressful. But I love talking about many, different things. And I love not sticking with only one topic to talk about. And I’m sure a lot of people also feel that way.

Which brings us to what I think should replace “Choose a niche”, as one of the fundamental blogging advice.

Write what you love

Don’t feel like you’re obligated to choose a niche. It’s not a dire requirement the way oxygen is for our body.

Whatever it is that you love to write about, however many or if only one, I think that if you are truly fascinated with your chosen topic/s, it will show. And you’ll find people who will be genuinely interested with your own online journey. 🙂

I hope this helped you out or, if not, at the very least did not waste your time. 😅 And so, as always:

Happy blogging, awesome peeps! 💃

13 thoughts on “That One Blogging Advice I Never Follow

  1. i agree! i think for some people especially those blogging as a job, it can be helpful to choose a main subject. but mostly, when you’re just blogging to have fun and express yourself, it’s better and more fun to not be limited! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome post Kate! Loved it so much. I just recently finished a course on CSS and HTML on code academy. HTML is so cool for changing the background colour of your blog posts!

    And onto your point of having a niche, from the moment I began I didn’t want to be limited to a certain topic but having so many topics floating about on one blog page stressed me out so then I made multiple blogs (3) to sort of maintain order (aha thinking of Chaos from Sadie Kane now). Anyways then I discovered how to finally have each category link to a new page on your blog and kaboom all other sites deleted and I am a rebel from the have a niche rule xD

    I love what you’re posting. It’s great to have variety. Plus reader’s loss if they decide to skip your blog cause it doesn’t have a niche.

    Btw your graphics are so gorgeous! They look amazing! And gosh that story, the way you used it to tell your story that was really cool. Loved it

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oohh! I always wanted to try Code Academy because I heard they teach starting from the very basics.
      Hahaha! I actually thought of that before too, having multiple blogs, but then I too have discovered the beauty of categories xD *high five fellow blogging rebel!*
      And aww, thank you so much! You’re always so awesome 😆

      Liked by 2 people

Share Your Thoughts

