What Happens When I’m Hooked on a Book

I just finished The Hidden Oracle by (Uncle) Rick Riordan and–

As you can see, I’m still in a book hangover.

I’ll probably–no, definitely–post a review of it next Tuesday. For now, I want to share what happens to me whenever I’m hooked on reading something. Because, you know, I just finished reading a novel and all of this is still fresh to me.

Full Anti-Social Mode

I am inherently anti-social but worry not, my daily dose is insignificantly small. I’d say hi to acquaintances and be (awkwardly) polite to strangers. But when I’m reading and it’s really good (see: above) don’t even expect me to be out of my house. It’s better to just leave me alone, really, not just because my anti-social mode is in full throttle but also…

Things (me, particularly) will go crazy…literally

If you visited my house, you would hear the occasional squeals and screams of “Noooo” coming from my room. Also, you would hear me talking to someone, accusing him/her, or saying, “Oh come on, gurl. You’re better than this.” And my mom or sister would tell you that no, I don’t have any other company there. And if they do, I will argue that yes, I don’t have another person with me in there but I still have a company–a really engaging book. Boom!

Night? Time? What are those?

When I like what I’m reading, the concept of time is a strange, unknown thing. Even possible acne breakouts (from sleeping too late) is a tiny matter. I started The Hidden Oracle around five in the afternoon, only went out of the room when it was dinner, and finished it by 2 in the morning the next day. Now, I don’t know about you guys, but to me that’s a great indicator that I’m enjoying a book. Hello, pimples.

The Book Hangover is severe

I find that when I thoroughly enjoyed a book, my book hangover for it would last beyond overnight. It might go on for days. It’ll be in my dream, my thoughts would stray to the book, either to my favorite scenes or the mind-boggling ones and there are moments when I would cry just thinking about something (see: Knife of Never Letting Go)

So there! These are the things that happens to me when I’m hooked on a book. All of which happened while I read and finished reading The Hidden Oracle. 

What happens when you’re really hooked on a good book?

Don’t be shy to share something crazy! I’d totally understand. 👍:mrgreen:

Happy reading, awesome peeps! 📚

21 thoughts on “What Happens When I’m Hooked on a Book

  1. Ugh. I know how you feel. Especially about Rick Riordan: sometimes I feel like finding his house and forcing him to write the sequel RIGHT NOW because I cannot deal with cliffhangers.
    This happens to my brother really often; it reminds me of a turtle crawling into it’s shell and can’t be coaxed out with anything. He literally sits on the couch for hours on end and finishes a book, like a really thick 500-page book (like the Heroes of Olympus) and will NOT stop until he’s finished.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tell me if you plan to because I’ll meet you there and we’ll protest in front of his house.
      Ah, your brother and I speak the same language then 😁 A 500-page book, especially the good ones, deserve all the attention they could get.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I guess you could say my excitement seeped out of the screen 😂 Oh it’s what I call Rick Riordan although I’m not related to him, but he feels like the cool kind of uncle 😅

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This post is so relatable. I don’t get to read nearly as much as I’d like to, but when I find a good book I just lock myself in my room and read for hours. Food, drink, sleep…. all tiny details that are not necessary until I finish the book hahaha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah yes, Uncle Rick’s old wait-a-year-for-the-sequel strategy. He taught me to be really patient 😅 In the meantime, the second Magnus Chase book is out in October so yay!

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

