Book Review: The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

AAAAAAAAAAOHMYGODS This book was so fun that I just can’t suppress myself. I’ve probably been deduced as a crazy person by my family for this. But *ahem* anyway, let’s start this review, shall we?


26252859The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

Published on: 3 May 2016
Published by
: Disney-Hyperion
ISBN: 148473274X
Pages: 376
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Add it on: Goodreads
Buy it on: Amazon | Book Depository
(Most) Favorite quote: “You’re beautiful and everyone loves you.”

How do you punish an immortal?

By making him human.

After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disorientated, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favour.

But Apollo has many enemies – gods, monsters and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go . . . an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood.


Okay. I want to start calm because I’m sure to get crazy further on.

I skimmed through some reviews for this in Goodreads just this morning, read a couple negative ones and I just want to lay it out. I totally understand where all of those disappointed readers are coming. But let’s face it: Rick Riordan’s style of writing leans toward entertaining and that trademark humor. He mixes light-read elements with action-packed adventure…I think. At least that’s how I see it.

Personally I go to a Rick Riordan book whenever I want to be entertained, not to be mind-boggled or to look for subtly hidden sociocultural themes or to cry my heart out. I get that from other authors.

With that said, I must say that this book was better than the Magnus Chase novel and I was more than entertained. (See: crazy self-reference above)

Apollo was amazing. He was a refreshing Riordan protagonist because sure, he’s technically a teenager, but he is also an ex-immortal. And he is so genuine! So genuine in being a selfish, narcissistic bastard. Which is why he’s so likeable. If you watch The Big Bang Theory, I would compare him to Sheldon Cooper in a way that they’re both assholes but you like them anyway because they’re so honest and unaware that they’re being assholes.

The shining star in this novel is Lester Papadopoulos. Amazing bloke. The acne and flabs can’t shadow his awesomeness. 😂

I like how the characters of the previous series, The Heroes of Olympus, were simply supporting characters and new characters were given a time to shine. I love how immature but also unexpectedly wise Meg is. But I kept wondering if maybe she’s tactless and inherently rude because of her upbringing? I mean, Percy and Annabeth were pretty mature and civil back in The Lightning Thief. And they’re also twelve, same age as Meg here.

And then…there’s Will and Nico. I mean sure, I was initially like, “Oh my gods yaaaas it happened!” But then as I repeatedly read that particular scene (because that’s what I do with my favorite scene of a book), I realized that this was just an expected fan-fodder. (Not that I didn’t happily gobble up that scene as much as I can.) How did they develop into this relationship? I understand six months passed between THO and TBoO but I desperately need context!

Another problem I had was that there isn’t much adventure going on. But I can understand that this is more of an adjustment period for Apollo and it’s a first installment a.k.a everything significant must be introduced.

Overall, this was a fun read, as expected from Uncle Rick. Also as expected: I’ll have to wait for another freaking year for the sequel so excuse me while I gnaw my days away until the second book of the Magnus Chase series is released.

4.5 stars

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

    1. Yo Toto 😂 I super loved PJO, probably because it was the first. HoO while also good, didn’t really excite me as much. I felt like they had more adventure in PJO than HoO.

      Like

        1. They say Magnus is like the Norse Percy but I beg to disagree. Although, I might be the only one who thinks so 😅 but besides that, I agree that the first book is like Lightning Thief.

          Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

