The Big and Little Goals

I wasn’t really good at making reachable goals. When I was younger and the teacher asked me of my goal in life, I would say completely farfetched and borderline fictional stuff like survive the zombie apocalypse or be a multimillionaire with a huge estate.


Looking back, I want to scoff at little Kate and tell her, “Honey, that estate sounds selfish when many people don’t have permanent homes… But yeah, prepare for the zombie apocalypse. You never know.”

And while my principles and worldview have changed, my penchant for that shoot-for-the-moon goal-making mentality still isn’t really gone. I mean, sure, I know the saying: “Shoot for the moon and you’ll land in the stars.” But sometimes I feel like whenever I shoot for the moon, I miss halfway and fall face-first back to the ground.

Unreached expectations and disappointment taste like the soil you fell on. And it freaking hurts.

Which is why I have been aiming for little goals these past several months. Goals that are highly likely I am able to reach in the given time. I even read somewhere that while you want to create big goals, creating and achieving the little goals would make it easier to reach said big goals.

So back in late June, when I started my blog revamp, I wrote a Blog Goals of sort. They weren’t the things that I wanted to achieve in the long run like hitting 100000 page views or cyber world domination (ahem) but more of something I want my blog to achieve within the year–even shorter than so. One of which was to reach 300 followers in three months.

It was around 240 something when I made the blog goal and because my follower growth rate isn’t really that fast, I thought, “Eh, 50 new followers and reaching 300 in three months? That’s near impossible, dearie.” So I half-pursued and half-expected it won’t happen. You know, working on trying to reach it but also conditioning myself it may not happen.

But it did happen. And earlier.

I swear, you wouldn’t even be able to describe how shocked my face looked when WordPress notified me I reached 300.

So thank you. Thank you to all of you awesome and lovely peeps who followed and gave my little blog a chance. And special thanks to those who always engage in the posts and the blogger friends I made here. And to those of you new here, welcome! I hope my weirdness still hasn’t scared you 😄 (and never will)

So lesson of the day? Dream big. Then wake up and find little ways to be closer to it day by day. 🙂

Happy blogging, awesome peeps!💃

18 thoughts on “The Big and Little Goals

    1. Ohmigosh, thank you so much Shannon! 😄 I agree, it’s the little goals that give us the morale boost to continue reaching for the big ones

      Like

  1. KAAAAAAAATTEEEEEEEE
    CONGRAAAATTSSSSSSSSSSSS *runs around, screaming “congrats kate” really, really loudly*
    I tend to get really overenthusiastic. moving on… YAYAYYYYY You so deserve 300!!! I’m so happy for you!! Here’s to many more in the future…
    p.s. if you’re planning on cyber-world domination, forget it. girl, I was BORN a dictator. but I suppose I’ll let you help… and any country of your choice to rule :).
    p.p.s. but not the uk. that’s mine. or france. or italy. those are mine too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! I can just imagine you running around 😂 Thank you so much, Hanna!! I’m so happy you’re so supportive of my goa–
      Wait, what…*sigh* I guess I can have the entire Antarctica then. Someone has to rule over those penguins and polar bears.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. True, true, dear Kate. The penguins and polar bears will be quite happy. If you want, I’ll even elect you to my board of dictators! there are many of us lurking on the blogosphere…

        Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

