Why I No Longer Judge a Book by its Predictability

Hey guys! I just want you all to know for this Bookish Tuesday we have another discussion post. I have a book review planned out but I need to post it for next week since I’m doing my self-drawn feature image for book reviews now and I have to find time making those. So I guess that’s how Bookish Tuesdays will go from now on — alternating on book reviews and other bookish stuff.

But onto today’s topic!

There was a time when a book's predictability can break it for me. Not anymore. Here's why.

Back then, when I was younger and have read only a handful of books, I always considered how unpredictable a book will go. It was one of my criteria for a good book, its unpredictability.

Predictability was my bookish pet peeve before. If the book’s plot line just screams mediocre I would be like, “Nope. That book sucks and isn’t worth my time.”

So when something happens and I’ll be like, “Whoa, I didn’t see that coming!” It’s a good book because, as I would explain to myself before, the author took the road not travelled at all. And that’s good.

Even now, I would still judge a local TV show by its predictability. Since the local entertainment industry like to squeeze out that clichéd happy-ending formula even if it’s already dry. Ugh.

But in the case of books… Things have changed.

Not only is it because I’ve now read enough books to know what will happen next, but also…I now rarely see an author use an unconventional way of storytelling. I no longer see a basic plot line that has never been used before.

Good always wins or the bad becomes good. The hero saves the world or the princess or both. The world is falling apart and hope comes from an unlikely place.

I’ll be honest, I’m a little disappointed because I will never be that ten-year-old bucktooth kid who is literally blown away by every book she reads since the story was so unexpected. And all she could do was clung to the book so tight, because reading it was a roller coaster ride she has never ridden before.

But amusement park metaphors aside, it doesn’t change the fact that I love stories. Like seriously love it. And they could compromise a story’s lack of unpredictability for the character development and depth, and for how the story is laid out, or the worldbuilding, or the overarching theme in the novel.

I don’t judge a book by its predictability anymore and I could forgive one I could predict after a few pages. I just hope it’s other elements isn’t mediocre too.

Do you guys have your own bookish pet peeve? Is there a reading habit of sort that you no longer have now?

Happy reading, awesome peeps!📚

13 thoughts on “Why I No Longer Judge a Book by its Predictability

  1. This is such an interesting and thought-provoking discussion! I feel like, as reviewers, we read so many books that we’re able to predict trends a lot easier than people who don’t read as much and aren’t as familiar with the current trends / troupes / etc. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous discussion! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. To me, it’s kinda like getting stripped of your bookish innocence. You’re less surprised of how books will turn out now than when you first started reading. Thank YOU for sharing your thoughts! 😊

      Like

  2. I can realte to this post so much. I used to read only the book that had a cute cover. It took me a while to realize that I was missing out on so many great books! I highly recommend “Obsidian” if you haven’t read it. The cover of the book is terrible, but the story is amazing! /KB

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh man YES! I seriously did the same back when I was younger. Ooh! I’ll look for that in the bookstores. Thanks for the recommendation! 😊

      Like

    1. I feel you. English is my second language too and I don’t like reading in my native language. I think I’m better at English. 😄 And ooh! That’s cool. The best of luck in learning French and Spanish 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

