There’s Always Room for Improvement

Hello hello, amazing people of the Interwebs! It’s the last day of August. A.k.a end of the month. A.k.a I’m sharing to you all a compilation of all the drawings I made this month.

I didn’t really have any kind of “theme” this month. But I did mention in a post before that I started learning watercolor last July. Which is why most of my artworks in August are of watercolor. And since this month is part of my watercolor painting learning curve, I’ll show you some really disgusting stuff alongside decent ones.

So prepare a bucket, you may hurl. I kid you not. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

sucky watercolor rose
This looked like a maze in a kid’s activity book
better watercolor rose
The yellow rose looks better but I ruined the leaves

unfinished landscapeI was going for surrealism. You know, orange hills and pink clouds. But it looked sucky and I was frustrated. So I didn’t finish it. blue ridge mountains first try

This one is not an original work but a watercolor tutorial I found on YouTube so I could practice on landscapes. It’s by an artist called Ekaterina Smirnova. Can we just pause to admire her name? Man, her name is so cool. It’s better than just Kate. And I love her tutorials because not only does she have a lovely accent, she is also doing it as simply as she could. Speaking of YouTube tutorials…

galaxy like vomit

I present to you. An intergalactic vomit. Can we all agree this👆 was hideous? This one I also made with the guide of a YouTube how to watercolor galaxy. I swear I followed the tutorial step by step. But as you can see it looks like vomit. I’ll give you a time to hurl if you want. Don’t worry, that’s the last one.

galaxy attempt #2

This was a second attempt at galaxy using the same tutorial. It’s not as good as I expected but I started to get the hang of it and it’s better than the vomit.

Galaxy wings

These two I kinda integrated inked works with watercolor. By some sheer accident, I got to find my own way of making watercolor galaxy (so much yay!) and I like my own process better. No vomit, importantly.Galaxy mermaid

Remember my drawing of a warrior-ish, kinda The Walking Dead girl?  Well, I decided to ink and watercolor it. Below are the different stages that the drawing has gone through.

Warrior girl - pencil Warrior girl - inked Warrior girl - watercolor

That was so embarrassing, showing you stuff I’d rather bring to my grave. But I don’t want to just show you the decent stuff and look like this uber-fantastic unicorn who learned watercolor so easily in a month. Because I didn’t. I’m just an ordinary person who also create stuff so horrible I want to vomit (or it looks like vomit) (I mentioned vomit too much, I’ll stop). I’m getting the hang of this medium but I want to be better at it. And I know there’s always something to improve.

So whatever it is that you want to improve, whether it’s a hobby or school or life itself, here’s what I can share to you: Embrace the uglies, learn from them and strive to be better each day. 🙂

Have a great September, awesome peeps! 🎨

18 thoughts on “There’s Always Room for Improvement

  1. KATE OH MY GOSH THESE ARE FABULOUS 💕

    I love the delicate nature of the purple flowers in the second image! Love the watercolour galaxy – it looks amazing! (Could you send me the tutorial link please).

    My favourite is the last drawing like HOLY MOLY it looks stunning 💙

    Always in admiration and awe of your skills!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh these are amazing! As a person who can’t even draw a stick figure I wish I had your skills! I love the inked watercolors and the galaxy, that’s coming from a person who loves the stars. Amazing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

