How to Let Happiness in Your Life Every-freakin-Day

Hey guys! Christmas is, what, eighteen days ahead? Eighteen more days!

And you know what I like about Christmas? (Apart from the obvious gifts, extra cash from relatives and restaurant-quality meals my mom exclusively cooks on Christmas Eve, of course) It’s all about joy and jolly and—oh don’t you forget, Kate—merry!

So I thought what better month to talk about injecting happiness than on December, amirite?

How to Let Happiness in Your Life | It's all about being happy in your life every-freakin-day

However, happiness, unlike my mom’s super exclusive Christmas dishes, shouldn’t only be injected this Christmas season but for the rest of the year.

Still. It’s timely.

So! Onto the list. Let’s do dis.

List All the Good Things that Happened Today

You can either write it down or just do it mentally, although I personally like writing it on paper and going through all of them afterwards. It just puts a smile on my face. But you can do what suits your fancy!

And when I said list, I don’t want you to be a picky-lister. Maybe you wouldn’t list this morning when a random dude smiled at you. But non non. Include it! Include every little good thing that happened.

Whether it was picking a penny or getting a candy from your friend. The point of this is so you’ll acknowledge the fact that even on bad days, there are things that made you happy or feel good.

Acknowledge the Universal Coexistence

See the last sentence on the previous paragraph? Now read it again. I said fact, because—well, obviously—it’s the truth. Good and bad coexist with each other. One definitely can’t exist without the other.

And yes, I know how deeply philosophical but again, truth.

That being said I hardly believe the entire twenty-four hours of a day could go by without any good thing happening. Because I know the good and bad always come together.

Acknowledging this, especially the thought that the bad things will come as often as the good ones, may make you feel more acceptable of the sucky moments. At least I do, anyway.

Make Time for Your Hobbies

Hear me out for a second, your hobbies are important. I know you must have met people who would scoff at you and tell you these are “just hobbies” and they will do nothing for your career. But I’m telling you, they are important.

Think about it: if all you’ll be working on for the entire year is school or your job, then it won’t be surprising when you’ll get burned out sooner or later.

It doesn’t have to be an entire month either. If you like to draw (like moi) maybe you could doodle during lunch break. If you’re into poetry, you could try writing a draft or even reading a piece by your favorite poet.

And when I said hobbies I don’t exactly mean scrolling through social media, especially Facebook. Because for one, you might just waste time looking through your friend’s vacation pictures or something. And for another, social media envy is as real as a unicorn.

(Seriously. Look up African unicorns.)

You want to find time doing something that, while it’s not part of your regular routine, it is fulfilling in some way and makes you feel looser and more relaxed.

Get a Good Night’s Sleep–At Least on Weekends

Repeat after me:

I’m not a machine.

I’m not a machine.

I’m not a machine.

Because you aren’t. Heck even computers need to either shut down or sleep, depending on what kind of rest it needs.

We all have our limitations. And while our brain is probably even more astounding than any machine invented, it will eventually get tired. Why do you think the concept of a good night’s sleep is created?

And I’m not one to shy away from burning the midnight oil, I tell you. Especially when I need to finish a huge project or study for something. But I do make it a habit to at least sleep early on less busy nights or the weekends.

Less stress, you know?

Listen to Awesome Music (And Dance to It!)

I am not boasting when I say our house always has a stock of great lively music. Not to mention my very own growing, *ahem*, awesome playlist, my sister is also the kind of person who does not gravitate towards a particular genre. And her jazz and 80s rock songs are so dance-worthy.

That said, whatever kind of music you like, so long as freakin’ love it, play it on speakers and dance the sadness away with it!

Here’s a confession: I actually have several mellow songs and I even dance to those. I do a weird hybrid of frustrated ballet and contemporary. Sometimes with an added dramatic expression. And hey, it still uplifts me!

Basically, just listen to something good and move your body while you’re at it.

Isn’t it amazing how Christmas has become a worldwide event? It’s one of the many things most of us has in common.

I even have this theory why Christmas is celebrated even by non-Christians. It’s because Christmas (along with New Year’s) has become a sort of valid reason, that one same time in the year, for us to simply be happy and celebrate the little things that make us smile.

And that idea made me love Christmas even more.

Onto you: do you celebrate Christmas? If not, do you have any Christmas-like event you celebrate annually? I’d love to hear about those, by the way. I’m extremely curious about different cultures. 😉

Also, how do you inject happiness into your life? Do you do one or more above? Something else? Share them in the comments!

Have a happy day, awesome peeps!

24 thoughts on “How to Let Happiness in Your Life Every-freakin-Day

  1. This is a great post.
    I am also interested in why and how people celebrate Christmas. I live in Canada (where it is currently snowing – a LOT) so my Christmas is pretty traditional. I think one reason we all need Christmas is because in the northern hemisphere is is so dark at this time of the year, we need the light and the gaiety. Blogmas is my way of spreading the fun all month long. looking forward to reading more of your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!
      Oh wow! Living in the tropics, I’ve never experienced snow before. Although we do hear the rare hailstorms in the news. 😄 That’s actually a great reason for celebrating Christmas. Thank you for stopping by! I’ll check out your blog right now.

      Like

  2. Loved this. I especially liked your reminder “I am not a machine. I am not a machine. I am not a machine.” It’s so easy to forget that, especially during Christmas when you have a million extra things to do on top of your already extended schedule. Loved your post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh gorsh thank you! I’m really glad you loved it! And yes, it is so easy to forget that we have our limitations especially at times when a lot of things are going on and you’re swamped with more.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely post. I am really going to make a list with happy things that happen to me every day! I do celebrate Christmas, and I inject happiness by blogging about it and writing it down, but mostly I just write down the bad things that happen to me, but I realize now how important it is to write down the happy things! You have a new follower on your blog! X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I totally get writing down the bad things! I like to do that when I was younger. My old diary was literally a notebook of complaints. 😅 I have this theory that writing things down makes them more real, in a way, which is why nowadays I like to write down the good things because they help me in keeping a balanced perspective in life 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And that book sounds interesting, I’ll look out for that in the bookstores. Thank you for sharing! 😊 It took me a long while to realize how much I feel better to write things down on pen and paper but when I started to, I can never go back again 😄

      Like

  4. Such an amazing post! I couldn’t agree more with everything you suggested. I think keeping a journal and noting all the positive things in your day is a great way to keep a open and positive mind. Being someone who always struggled with sleep I have searched for ways to help me sleep better as it does play a huge role in my day. I recently downloaded the CALM app and I listen to different calming sounds while I sleep like rain or wind. It has been helping I think. Great post! Keep up with the good vibes. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Yes, writing every good thing that happened in the day makes them much more real to me, in a way. I haven’t heard of that app before and it sounds amazing! I rarely struggle with sleep but when I do, I feel like it’s being an overachiever at not making me sleep at all 😅 Thank you for mentioning it! And I’m glad it helps you. I’ll check the app out in the morning! Thank you for stopping by again!

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Aww thank you! That means a lot, really! And I totally understand that. I went through a kinda dark phase in my early teens and I hope no other younger teens will be able to feel that way. Thanks again!

          Liked by 1 person

  5. I do almost all things you mentioned!! XD I listen to music everyday and dance to it! I think I should sleep a little more, but at least I get good sleep on weekends! 😛 Also in bed, before falling asleep, I talk to myself about all the funny and cool things that happened along that day/week! XD
    I LOVED this post!!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! It’s great to know other people who do these 😄 Personally I feel better when I get a decent sleep the night before. I mean, it doesn’t have to be full eight hours; four is goof enough for me 😄 And ooh! That’s a cool idea! I kinda do mine mentally before I go to sleep but I really like writing them down more 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem!! XD Yes, sleeping is a really important factor, I feel like death when I don’t get enough sleep, thank god coffee exists! XD
        And yeah, writing them down is awesome! I have a notebook full of funny quotes people say in school!! XD XD It’s a blast!!! Me and my friends love checking it out every once in a while and have a laugh!! XD

        Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

