Looking Back and Looking Forward

Hello hello all of you lovely people of the Interwebs!

Today is the last day of the year! I’m sure lots of you are just jumping for joy, so excited to say goodbye to 2016. But as I’ve said last Wednesday, there were good things that happened this year, right?

And so for this last post of the year, I want to share to you all not just the drawings I did this month (because it’s the end-of-the-month creative review as well) but also looking back on 2016 and forward to 2017.

This could be rather long so I’ll just breeze through the pictures. You could click on them if you want a closer look, of course πŸ™‚

These were scanned because I got a printer/scanner and I wanted to try out scanning me works. πŸ˜€ I adjusted the brightness and contrast in the scanning software itself which is why the background for some is gray. I was too lazy to adjust things in Photoshop but I’ll definitely try that out sometime.

These four I drew just this week and I was (again) too lazy to scan them. And I feel like they would lose that inked feel when scanned. Also, ohmigosh! It’s been so long since I drew a purely inked work!

Looking Back

So here are some personal highlights of 2016:

  • I turned 18. Pahaha! And I didn’t feel as mature as the 8-year-old me expected I would be at this age. I want to feel sorry for my 8-year-old self’s unreached expectation. But honestly? I’m not. I like myself just as I am. And if a part of me will change in the future? I’ll like that too.
    People, this is gonna be cliche but I don’t care: love your self. Love your self as you are now and when you do change (and it will happen), love your self just as much.
  • I made new awesome blogger friends! And even had a chance to email a few. I want to thank Kiya of Flawed Silence, especially, for letting me be a dope in my first comment on her blog–and on every blog post of hers, every email, and every Instagram post of hers onwards. She is just super kind and so awesome to talk to πŸ™‚ But hey, lots of you are awesome too! Ash of Teenella for being so sweet when I had that impulsive email (you know what I mean πŸ˜‰ ), childofcynicism for being a crazy amazing human being. And to everyone! If I can I want to go to your houses and shout ‘thank you’ and hug you all, however creepy that sounds. 😅
  • I learned watercolor. It’s amazing how I thought of watercolor as this daunting thing just a year ago. That I couldn’t possibly make something decent from it.
    Now how about you? Off the top of your head, think of one thing you think you can’t possibly achieve. Have one? Well, I’m telling you from personal experience: it is possible.

Those are three things, right? No. All the lessons I’ve learned in 2016 are all interrelated with these three things. Growth, self-love, my perspective in life, making friends, spreading love, knowing the limits of one’s creativity (spoiler alert: only you build your limits)

Related: 6 Life Lessons I Learned in 2016

Which is why they are my highlights for 2016. Funnily enough, each represents one of the three aspects of this blog–inspiration, passion and creativity respectively. πŸ˜€

My Goals for 2017

  • Discover more blogs to follow and make more blogger friends.
  • Pass my majors
  • Read more nonfictions and poems (because you don’t have to tell me to read novels; it’s a given)
  • Make use of my own illustrations and doodles for blog graphics
  • Give my second blog more blog design lovin’ (translation: revamp Tattered Manuscripts)

I don’t really want to be ambitious, goals-wise. I just want to concentrate on a few things that I want to improve, is all. And that’s because my plans for 2017 is a leeeeetle bit ambitious.

My Plans for All the Trinkets next year:

  • Create a newsletter (it’s actually in the works now hee~)
  • This isn’t in the blog per se but I plan on doing some inked doodles for 365 days starting on January 1. I will be posting each drawings everyday on my Instagram art account. But you can also see them here in my blog because starting next year, I’ll…
  • Create a separate page for my artworks. Don’t get me wrong, I love the end-of-the-month creative review but it could slow the loading time of the post with all the pictures. So I’m making a page specifically for them which I’ll update every end of the month.
  • A secret art project that I hope to finish before the end of 2017 πŸ™‚

So…yeah. Those are my goals and plans for 2017. πŸ™‚

Now I just want to thank you all, like seriously all of you, for being so awesome and supportive and just plain amazing people. I’ll never get tired of saying that being here and joining this community was one of the best decisions that I’ve made in my entire life! ❀

So thank you, all you lovely unicorns and turtles and…are there dolphins here? All of you! Thank you.

I hope to see you all next year and to see new faces and discover new blogs as well. πŸ™‚

May you have a SPECTABULOUSLY FANTAMAZING year ahead! 🎉🎆

24 thoughts on “Looking Back and Looking Forward

  1. You’re honestly SO talented – I’m genuinely in love with your drawings! Also, that impulsive email was brilliant and don’t hold back if you ever feel another email coming about!πŸ˜‚ I’m really looking forward to these new changes and I’ll probably be visiting that separate page with your artworks a LOT this year! All the best in achieving your goals! I hope 2017 is amazing for you because you deserve a positive-filled year for being an incredibly awesome unicorn!❀️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohmigorsh thank you! Hehe, I promise I won’t drop too many email-vomit (? Is that a thing? πŸ˜…) too often.
      I look forward to what awesomeness you have in store this year too! And thank you so much, Ash! You also deserve a rainbow-filled 2017! *hands a virtual rainbow cake*

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem! And it is a thing now!πŸ˜‚ Aww thank you so much!!! *takes a big bite of the awesome rainbow cake* Would you like some too?

        Like

  2. OMG THESE DRAWINGS ARE SO BADASS!

    I would love to own your sketchbook for a day just to stare in awe at the amazingness of my friend! I can’t wait for the newsletters and a secret art project you say *tries to read the top secret files* and aw you mentioned me and complimented me so kindly aww *melts* I love you 😘 I’m so excited for both your blogs! And your daily doodles – expect to be spammed with likes and 😍😍 emojis hehe

    HAPPY NEW YEAR AWESOME πŸ’•

    P.S I’m a dolphin…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kiyaaaa you really do know how to melt me heart πŸ’œ The funny thing is, only the purely inked ones are in a sketchbook, the rest are things I tried on different papers πŸ˜„
      Hehe you’re not going to see it in the files, I haven’t even made a written document for it. Yet πŸ˜‚
      Of course I’ll mention you, you awesome human being-dolphin *hugs* I love you too 😊 I’m excited for yours as well!
      HAPPY NEW YEAR πŸ’•πŸŽ‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Out of curiosity, how many sketchbooks do you own, and where do you store your work and do you have an art wall in your room?

        πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I’ll have to mind read you then *focusses intently*

        πŸ’ž

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I currently own three sketchbooks. I probably had dozens but it’s either in storage or I threw them out πŸ˜…
          I don’t have an art wall but I have this thin rope on one side of the room and I hang some with those adorable wooden clothespins πŸ˜„
          Ha! Try it, my mind is sealed shut against mind reading πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Loved this post!! I loved the drawings! You should make a tutorial on how to pain galaxies with watercolor!! XD XD And hope you reach all your goal for 2017!! Looking forward to the things you planned for your blog!!! XD
    Happy new year!! Have an awesome day!! XD

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

