How to Achieve the Big Goals

Weโ€™re still at that time of the year when we like to create resolutions and goals we want to achieve before the end of the year. Personally Iโ€™m not into making resolutions. I stopped making one a few years back because it never worked for me.

But hey, we all have our own preferences of things, yeah? So if you like resolutions I’m not judging you. Go ahead and make as much or as few resolutions as you want! Please don’t let me or anyone stop you ๐Ÿ™‚

But we’ll be talking about goals here so I’ll veer towards that direction now. ๐Ÿ˜„

How to Achieve Big Goals | Are you setting some goals this year? Are you making the BIG ones? Here are some tips to achieve big goals.

There are two types of goals: the big goals that are often ambitious and would take a heck lot of time to achieve and the little ones that you could achieve as soon as now. And I want to talk more about the former kind today.

These goals seem farfetched, especially when you share them to others and people have this look on their faces thatโ€™s like, โ€œIs this person for real?โ€

So much for support, amirite?

This and many more could make you feel like these โ€œfarfetchedโ€ goals of yours are literally unachievable. So letโ€™s bust that today, okay? Okay. Letโ€™s do dis!

Don’t Let Doubt Creep In

Men and women! To arms! This is a battle to win the holy grail of achievements! And like every epic journey documented by man, it won’t be easy. You’ll encounter obstacles that will hinder you and one of your toughest adversaries is self-doubt.

(Can you tell I’m influenced by Medieval Age fantasy just now? Hehe I was watching one recently)

The thing is, doubt is inevitable with big goals exactly because they’re not so easy to attain. All throughout your journey, doubt will pop out of nowhere. It’s like one of those recurring antagonists that just don’t die.

Distance Yourself from People who Bring You Down

If you shared the huge goal you wish to achieve to someone and they have that “Is he/she for real?” look, walk away.

Just walk away. They will only add up to the doubt you’re already giving yourself.

I mean, you don’t have to necessarily ban them from your life forever because, let’s face it, sometimes the people who doubt us most are those closest to us, those who are important to us.

It’s sad but it’s true for a lot of people.

So whenever they wear that uncertain expression, ignore it. When they speak their doubts, let it pass through one ear and out the other or insist you can do it. And if they persist on what they think, leave it alone. Don’t fight, especially if they’re important to you; you don’t want to lose them to a conflict of ideas. We all differ that way.

But you don’t want to lose that goal, too. Instead, look for other people who will support you, understand you, and share your journey with them.

Write It Down

I’m telling you, there is power in writing things down.

It has a huge impact. It creates permanence and this sense of tangibility. So write down your big goal and paste it in a place you always pass by everyday.

And you may want to change things up regularly. Like putting the paper in a new place every other week or maybe making a new one every month in rainbow color pens or something.

Because it is natural for us to treat something that’s been there for a long time like it’s a part of the background and ultimately forget about it.

So this is kinda like reinforcing your motivation and determination, right?

Divide Your Big Goal into Small Achievable Pieces

This is the most practical way of achieving big goals: turn them into little goals. Be specific and, if possible, make it timely. It’s like building up a ladder rung by rung to reach the rooftop instead of, well, scaling the walls.

For example, June last year I decided to make it a goal to reach 350 followers before the year ends. It was a scary thing to decide. At that time I had around 230 followers and I had been blogging for a year and a half. I wanted to achieve in six months what, statistically, I reached after ten.

See what I meant about scary?

So I made an outline on how I’ll do it and divided the goal into smaller ones. The little goals were milestones, each step taking me nearer and nearer to the big one. And making the milestone goals made me focus more on what’s directly in front of me, rather than fussing about getting to the big goal.

Because I know I’ll get there eventually, stepping into one milestone at a time.

And holy guacamole, I did it. I hit the 400-mark before the year ended and that was beyond what I expected or planned.

Best of all, I met so many talented and creative minds, kind and thoughtful hearts. Just plain amazing people. I’ll never get tired of saying I am beyond happy to get to know you all here.

But let’s carry on before I become an emotional mush ๐Ÿ˜…

Don’t Stop

*BELIEEEEVING HOLD ON TO THAT FEEEEELING*

Ahem. Okay. So that song actually holds some truth for goal-setting.

I mentioned earlier that doubt creeps in any-freakin-time and I meant it. Don’t stop what you’re doing just because doubt arrived. Don’t stop believing that you will reach it. Because you can.

Keep on doing the things you need to do to reach those goals. Because at the end of the day, your greatest obstacle is yourself. And as an equally iconic song repeatedly say, just keep swimming.

How is 2017 treating you so far? Do you have any big goals planned out for this year? Share them in the comments!

Happy goal-setting, awesome peeps! ๐Ÿ“Œ

10 thoughts on “How to Achieve the Big Goals

    1. Thank you so much! I’m glad you found these helpful. And I’m sure if you work hard you’ll achieve those goals within the year ๐Ÿ˜Š The best of luck!

      Like

  1. What a great post! All the tips are really great and I know from experience that especially the one where you break it up into smaller goals really works. The same can be done with a school project or something, to make the task seem easier to overcome:) And congrats on the followers, that’s really impressive!
    Do you have any idea what you did that made the change in your follower growth? I’m always looking for tips and inspiration on the matter xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I think breaking any task into smaller achievable tasks makes it easier to overcome ๐Ÿ™‚ And thank you so much!
      I don’t know what specifically since I tried plenty at a time ๐Ÿ˜… but, ultimately, if you want people to engage with you, I think engaging to other blogs helps a lot. Just being completely genuine and thoughtful with what you say or how you interact ๐Ÿ˜Š I hope that helps! Let me know anything else you need help with. Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That has been my approach so far as well:) A lot of bloggers (and youtubers, instagrammers etc as well) expect that the followers will just come automatically, once they’ve started their blog, but it mostly doesn’t work that way. As you say, being active and engaging with others is usually the best way to go:)
        No problem! Looking forward to your next post x

        Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

