What I Learned from Pushing Too Far

Something happened to me last week.

I can’t exactly say what because the experience itself was too personal, I guess? And the details are downright embarrassing. Still, I want to share to you what I learned from the experience because I think it’s really important.

The gist was I pushed too far.

I knew what my limits were and I knew at that time I was at my limits. But there was that big part of me who was telling me, “No, don’t stop. You can finish it. You can do this!” I was stubborn and I listened to it; it wasn’t easy not to listen when my entire mind agreed to that part of me. I even endured everything by myself, reasoning that I didn’t want to burden my family with my personal problem.

Because it was my problem to deal with.

But at one point, my body was suffering. My heart was beating too fast and my limbs were screaming in pain. That’s when I knew that my body couldn’t do it. That I had to stop and let it go for the moment.

I was so scared. My mind was running through every worst-case scenarios that could possibly happen. What if I really hurt myself inside? What if I will die right then and there? It’s easy to say now that last week was one of the scariest things that ever happened to me recently.

And I made it scary.

So much for constantly saying “Don’t push yourself!” here in the blog, right? I mean, how many times have I told you that we all have our limits?

And here I am, doing exactly what I told you not to do. I’m guilty of it. I’m guilty of pushing myself too far. Despite learning to not push to the limits, there are still moments like last week when I’m just too stubborn to stop.

But last week felt like a home run. It was the slap-in-the-face that made me thought, Enough, Kate. I swore I was never going to let myself be in that position again. I don’t want to hurt my body that way ever again.

So what can you learn from my story? Heck, what did I learn from what happened? Well two things, actually.

What I Learned from Pushing Too Far | This is a wee bit serious than what I usually write. I share a time when I pushed too far and what I learned from the experience.

First: Get to know yourself better.

Know who you are. Your body, your mind, your attitude to things…everything about you. Without knowing yourself, you wouldn’t know your limits or your weaknesses or your flaws.

And ultimately, you wouldn’t know when you’ve pushed too far.

I know what others say: “The sky is the limit, persist!” So I’m not saying you shouldn’t see how far you can go. By all means, do. The world needs people who are willing to go the extra mile. What I’m trying to say here is: listen to what your body has to say. If it’s tired, stop. If it’s hurting, take a break.

Believe me, I learned the hard way (see: story above) that the body has its ways to tell you it’s tired. And it will say.

All you need to do is listen.

Second: Rely on others more.

By knowing yourself and your limits, you would know that there are times when you can’t handle things on your own.

This is a big blow for me. See, I’m the kind of person who feels weird constantly relying on someone. Maybe because I don’t want to impose on others or because of my pride or both. Either way, I grew up independent, not relying on even my family or closest friends.

But you know what happened last week? I was too scared for myself that I asked my mom for help. And she had the answer. She reassured me the problem was simple and easy to solve.

There is honestly nothing wrong with pushing yourself, seeing how far you’ll go. But know, as I have, that too much of everything is wrong. And pushing too far can bring more hurt—to yourself, your body and even the people around you—than rewards.

I guess finding that balance between striving for improvement and acknowledging limitations is needed. Whether it’s school or work, a hobby, blogging or anything else. Find it. Take it from me.

Hey, guys! This was a really…serious post. So! To put some fun in it, can you pinpoint the two Moana songs I accidentally placed in there? I only noticed them when I was reviewing the post. Hehe 😀

Have an inspired day, awesome peeps! ❤

post-promotion

8 thoughts on “What I Learned from Pushing Too Far

  1. I agree with you on getting to know yourself better but I don’t know about trusting other people much. I mean every time I have tried that I have received a slap on my face which has made me so stubborn that I rarely trust people.
    But you shared a great post here. Thanks for that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally understand where you’re coming from. It’s so hard to rely on other people when many have, time and again, disappointed and failed you.
      But I also honestly think we can’t go on through life without a little help from others and, ultimately, trusting someone 😊
      Regardless, thank you so much for reading and sharing your thoughts on the topic. Have a nice day!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That was a good post, I know how you feel like, sometimes you’re too eager and then you just don’t want to stop, even if you should. But by writing this post, we could all learn from it, thank you. 🙂
    love, elena

    outnaboutweb.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with the both the points wholeheartedly. Recently I have come to the realisation that although we can we really don’t have to do life solo. I suffer with trust issues and trusting people have been really hard for me. Due to past incidents it feels like I am troubling people when I talk about myself that they just get annoyed. But that is not the case and I have slowly started opening up to people. And asking for help.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I understand you, Tanya. I have trust issues myself which is why I can’t find it easy to rely on people. We really don’t have to carry our burdens on our own all the time.
      I’m happy you’ve started to open up to people 🙂 It doesn’t matter if it’s slow or quick, you started. And that’s the important part. 😊

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

