Why I Changed My Blog Name (+ When To Do It)

Late last year, November to be exact, I announced the changing of my blog name from Plethoric Thoughts to All The Trinkets. That was, by far, the hardest decision I had to do here in my blog.

Why I Changed My Blog Name (+ When To Do It) | I changed my blog name several months ago. Here’s why I did it and when to change your blog name and address.

So why did I change my blog name and url? I have three reasons.

It didn’t vibe with what my blog is all about

I named my blog Plethoric Thoughts back then because my blog was all about me posting things I like whenever I wanted. It was a personal journal. But last year, it gradually grew to be something more. And I no longer want it to be just for me.

While still talking about things I love, I now want my blog to be this tiny passionate place people can go to when they need help finding creativity and inspiration and blogging tips. It felt right to change the name.

It wasn’t at par with my blog’s overall feel

When I started this blog, it was the virtual house of a grumpy old troll.

No kidding.

My first ever post here was literally a (mostly negative) commentary on a short film I saw on YouTube. That post, along with many others, is gone now though. And you’d know this if you’ve been around for a reaaaally long time.

So see? I was bitter and cynical back then when I started this blog. But I don’t want to be like that anymore.

(Speaking of cynicism, can I just say that I am SUUUUPER in love with Child of Cynicism!? Bea, the awesome human being behind this inspiring and genuinely amazing blog, writes thought-provoking posts (like this one) that, as a fellow teenager facing issues many adults don’t understand, always either hit me hard or rock me to my core. You all should check it out!)

And because I wanted my blog to be a place of inspiration and passion and creativity, I wanted a name for it that I think would fit that feel. Something that sounds happy and fun. And my last reason why I changed my blog name…

I like the phrase, hehehe

I’ll just throw it out there that one reason why it took me sooo long to change my blog name was because I couldn’t decide on a great one. I literally had a whole page filled with pretty-sounding words from “pepper” to completely made-up ones like “parafel” (which kinda reminds me of falafel :D)

But then I came up with “all the trinkets” and I asked my friends and fam about it and voila! I am already in love with my new name.

So! Now that we have my reasons why I changed my blog name, I give you the “when”. Specifically, when do you change your blog name?

When It Doesn’t Match Your Blog’s Identity

You could change what you want your blog will be and still retain your blog’s name. But there are also times, like with mine, when it doesn’t exactly match what your blog is really about.

What if your blog was all about a specific topic like, say, anime and episode reviews and was called “Fujiyoshi Anime Reviews”. But then you wanted to make it into a general fangirl’s blog where you talk about all the things you like such as books and ships too? That name won’t tell anyone about what your blog is really all about, right?

You know when I likened a blog to a shop and that it’s good to have a cohesive atmosphere in all aspects of it? Well, your blog’s name is also part of your blog’s overall identity and it has to correlate with the rest of it. (In business, this is called branding, by the way :))

Related: Choosing the Right Color Palette for Your Blog

But at the end of the day, here is the most important “when”:

When YOU Want to Change It

Whether you want to change your blog’s name or not, it’s always always your call. Follow what your gut instinct tells you.

Sure, there are tons of tips and pieces of advice out there (including this one) that will tell you when the right time to change your blog’s name is. But remember to take everything you read by grain. What’s more important is what YOU think. It is your virtual home, after all. 🙂

Did you just rename your blog? Would you want me to share tips on what to do when renaming your blog name and address? Are there tips you want to share? Share them below!

Happy blogging, awesome peeps!

post-promotion

19 thoughts on “Why I Changed My Blog Name (+ When To Do It)

  1. I luuved this post! XD LOL, my blog was first updated in spanish so that’s why it had such a weird word in the title (diversion) and there was times that I wanted to change it but I was afraid my followers would go on my old url and think I deleted my blog. Then I found out that “diversion” is a word in english too so yup 😂😂, now I’m ok with the name, I’ve been using it for 3 years!! XD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All great tips you’ve shared here. I really like the name of your blog and what it’s all about. It’s funny how different our blogs can become the more we work on them. I think we find our voice more the more we write. It’s an interesting evolution, that’s for sure. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! It’s like our blogs grow along with us too. At one point, I feel like my blog is not different than any part of my body, although that may sound weird haha 😀
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks so much for the mention Kate! I adore your blog too and I find you a fascinating person to talk to-you’re proof that here’s hope for this generation. It’s interesting you mention that, I feel like my blog title is a bit too negative-but in a way, I feel like it’s a part of my identity now (silly, I know :)).

    I do agree with you that All the Trinkets is a far better name-it’s catchy and memorable. I love it!x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh gosh, YOU’RE one of the many proofs that there’s hope for our generation 🙂 No, it’s not silly at all! I also feel like your blog title is part of your identity now. And aww I love your name and blog too! x

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading, Styliana! There are plenty of articles out there to help you with choosing a new blog name. I also had a hard time coming up with a new blog name and one thing that really helped me is having a brainstorm of words that give off a feeling that I want my blog to have. In my case, it’s light and positive. Hope that helps 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

