So You Think You Can’t Draw?

I remember being amused as I click on the Ted Talk video below. I mean, I know I’m decent at drawing but the fact is I’ve met a lot of people who look at my works say two phrases–one which flatter me and the other I disagree. “Wow, your drawing is so good!” and “I wish I could draw as good as you.” Or “Oh my gosh, that looks beautiful!” and “I want to do something like that but I don’t know how to draw.”

So You Think You Can't Draw? | This amazing TED Talk by Graham Shaw will make you rethink what you think you can't do. Seriously.

Of course, the compliments are what flatter me–some (like Kiya hehe) even have the ability to melt me with their multi-compliments. 😀

But I honestly disagree with the latter phrases. Drawing is not an innate skill. If you want to, you could always learn. You would not believe the many artists I know who started out like the rest of us–shaky lines and not-so-good anatomy.

And so, if you believe you can’t draw, I urge you to watch this video to the end. You can even go along with it. But it’s important that you reach the conclusion. Because the speaker, Graham Shaw, has a thought-provoking question for all of us. Enjoy! 🙂

So. What’s your answer? 🙂

Have a fulfilling day, awesome peeps! ❤

17 thoughts on “So You Think You Can’t Draw?

  1. How cool is this? I was in AP Art in high school and till this day I get the urge to draw but I feel like I can’t for some reason – when clearly, I can :). Love this post!

    kimberlyluxe.com
    blogbohemian.com/shopeverything

    Like

  2. Oh this was absolutely great! For one, I love TED Talks, but two, I’ve always wanted to draw well — or better. I’m taking Visual Art next year in school (this year we had to take theatre) and I’m super excited to learn more about drawing! I really want to get better — it’s such a great skill to have. Thank you for sharing and making me feel better about my writing skills! XD

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Spot on! What a lot of people don’t realise is that you can learn anything if you’re willing to work for it. I remember a few years ago I was at this drawing class and one of the girls there asked me if I could teach her how to draw. I was confused because I can’t teach someone how to draw, I don’t know how to draw, I just do. Drawing is probably 90% practice, and 10% actually learning something. Trial and error is the way to go. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! I totally agree with that.
      Also, I love how you said drawing is 90% practice and 10% learning, I never thought of it that way but you’re right! 😊
      Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

