The Ultimate Life Lesson I Learned from Scrabble

I’m pretty sure I either made you chuckle or raise your brows with that title, eh? But it’s true. The best life lesson I learned in my life so far, I learned it from playing Scrabble.

Specifically, whenever my opponent gets a Scrabble.

What I Learned from Scrabble: I’m pretty sure I either made you chuckle or raise your brows with that title, eh? But it’s true. The best life lesson I learned in my life so far, I learned it from playing Scrabble.

For those who don’t know, getting a Scrabble is when you use all seven tiles in one turn. Which… I’m telling you, is hard and would need you a stroke of luck. Thing is, when you get a scrabble you get an additional 50 points along with the points you would have earned with the tiles. Which is kinda disheartening if it’s your opponent that’s getting a Scrabble.

I mean, if the guy got a scrabble and hit the Triple Word box? Whoo! That’s almost impossible to beat. So whenever I play with my aunts and someone gets a Scrabble, the game is automatically over. That person’s deemed winner and we put all the pieces back in the box. Game over.

But you can’t really do that in a tourney. Especially if you’re representing your class.

And you also can’t do that in Words with Friends. Unless you want your ego bruised and your failure witnessed virtually by a stranger that’s likely in the other side of the world.

But I don’t want my ego bruised by Scrabble or Words with Friends ever.

So what do I do, then?

I don’t give up.

Which is exactly the lesson I learned from Scrabble.

There are times in your life when you’ll get the worst seven-letter combinations to ever play with and it’ll feel like screaming “I give up!” and standing up and stepping away from the game is better than dealing with such horror. There will be times when the score you need to catch up to is high. Sooo high that it feels like you’ll never be able to pass it—much less reach it.

But look here, so long as you keep playing the game, so long as you try making do with what you have—you can even take one step back by losing a turn to change one or your entire tiles and start fresh—and so long as you don’t give up, you can reach the end with a head held high and your dignity intact.

Just keep going.

Who knows? Maybe you’ll even get your own Scrabble.

What’s your favorite game (it doesn’t necessarily have to be a board game, of course) and what life lesson have you learned from it, if there was any?

Happy playing, awesome peeps!

20 thoughts on “The Ultimate Life Lesson I Learned from Scrabble

  1. My favorite board game is Monopoly and I also play a sport, and I guess you can say that I’ve learned the same lesson from these two games. It’s really hard to stay focused on a game when you’re almost bankrupt or if you’re losing with a huge gap, and all you want to do is go eat ice cream instead of playing 😀 But you never know what’s going to happen, the games are unpredictable 😉 You just gotta try you’re best!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw man, we had that game before! I remember I used to create this subtle mark on the Mansion card that only I know so I always get it 😂 I miss playing that 💕 Haha I’m pretty weird that way, looking for life lessons in the most unexpected places 😁

      Liked by 1 person

        1. 😁 My sis will be like, “You always get the mansion!” and I’ll just grin and shrug. They eventually saw the mark and we don’t include the mansion anymore when we play 😄

          Liked by 1 person

    1. I was about to sleep and decided to reply to comments tomorrow but OH MY GREAT SCOT WE ARE TWINNING YET AGAIN. Also by now, I shouldn’t be surprised anymore
      My username is katetastrophic (which is lame and soo pathetically hilarious, I know, but I’m too lazy to change it and think of a new one 😅)

      Like

  2. This is such a great post! I agree to never give up in life. I played Chess and I was in tournament. I almost gave up since my opponent beat me three times, and I lost all motivation. But then later on I was surprised I got a silver medal. I was so happy that time and proud that I didn’t give up ❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is an amazing achievement, Jirah! I’m sure you worked real hard for it and I’m happy for you 😊 Thank you for reading and sharing your story!

      Like

Share Your Thoughts

