4 Free Alternatives for Photoshop

As some of you may have known, I use Photoshop for my blog graphics. I’ve been using it since November last year and I know how most of you feel about it. It’s daunting. Using Photoshop is kinda like trying to jump off a cliff and into the sea. I mean, who does that? Werewolves*??

But yes, I use Photoshop and after learning a few tricks, it gets easier.

…Though that’s still no indication that I’m anywhere near willing to jump off a cliff. But let me get back to the entire point of this post. I know that even if you want to, you have reasons why you can’t use Photoshop.

That’s okay! You don’t need Photoshop to create awesome blog graphics. And I’ll prove it to you. Below I’ve listed some free Photoshop alternatives I’ve once dabbled in before that y’all can use to rock at blog graphics. 🙂

4 Free Alternatives for Photoshop | I share the 4 Photoshop alternatives I used before that y’all can use to rock at your blog graphics ;)

1 | Canva

Ah, Canva. If you haven’t heard or haven’t tried this web app yet, I urge you to. Heck, even pro, full-time bloggers use it to this day! Its free version is more than enough for some simple blog graphic-making and it’s user-friendly, even the total beginners at photo-editing can navigate their way through it.

You can use your own photos, they have some of the common shapes you need, and they even have some free layouts for blog graphics or graphics for any social media account. But what I love the most about Canva is their wide array of free beautiful fonts! Bless them.

2 | Phonto

Phonto is a mobile app and it’s good for on-the-go editing. I used this while I was at my grandparents’ house last year because the laptop I use has no Photoshop or any photo-editing program and Internet connection was irregular over there. I’ll be the first to admit, it needs a lot of manual adjusting on your part. And you would need a companion app that can crop—I used Snapseed—since Phonto’s main function is putting texts or shapes over images.

The plus side is you get to use your own fonts so if you use a certain font that isn’t available in free photo-editing platforms like Canva for your blog graphics, you can simply have the font installed into the app.

I also made a tutorial on how to use Phonto for editing your blog graphics, if you want to see.

3 | PicMonkey

Before Canva became the It Freeware in the blogosphere, bloggers were all over PicMonkey. And so, because I am such a curious cat, I tried it. It’s really great. Like Canva, it’s a free web app. Unlike Canva, it lets you use the fonts in your computer so whoop whoop!

And oh, just because this app isn’t the “fresh meat” that Canva is, does not mean you should take it lightly. Other than adding texts and shapes to your images, PicMonkey’s other features is improving the image itself. So you can crop it, adjust the image’s brightness, contrast, saturation…the works. Translation: You can use it to make your images brighter and better-looking, ultimately.

4 | Photopea

I’ve only recently discovered this pretty Photopea but oh my gosh. It’s brilliant! Photopea, like Canva and PicMonkey, is a free web app. Here’s the catch: it also supports PSD files. A PSD file is used in Photoshop. It’s basically this “core file” complete with the layers that make up an image.

So if you have blog image templates from bloggers, like the templates that I shared several posts ago, and you don’t use Photoshop, Photopea is a great app to go to. It has advanced photo-editing tool but is less daunting to use than Photoshop. So big win!

I wanna know: What program do you use to make your blog graphics? Share some advice for those dipping their toes in blog graphic-making!

Happy blogging, awesome peeps!

9 thoughts on “4 Free Alternatives for Photoshop

    1. Yes Canva is great for simple blog graphic-making but PicMonkey offers SO much more than that. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Chloe! 🙂

      Like

  1. Nice post! Thanks for sharing these free alternatives. 😀
    The only one I’ve used so far is PicMonkey, so I’ll have to give the others a try some time for sure. I really like how easy PicMonkey is to use though. I tend to get intimidated by computer stuff I’m not used to, but I found it very easy to get into and navigate. 🙂

    Like

  2. I use PicMonkey. Canva is cool, but something’s just… off for me. I also know that BeFunky (befunky.com) is also good, but it’s a little confusing at first. BUT THEY HAVE SOOOOOOOO MANY AWESOME FREE FONTS AAAAAAND ALLOW YOU TO USE FONTS FROM YOUR COMPUTER. *gasp gaso gasp* 😄 I have Phonto on my phone… but I just use it to play around. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like using Canva for simple text+image editing. But yes, PicMonkey is cool 🙂 Ooh! I haven’t heard of BeFunky before. *gasp* I see many awesome free fonts and I’m sold. I’ll have to check that out!
      Hahaha I don’t use Phonto as much anymore. I use to use it for my instagram but I’m getting lazy posting regularly there recently 😄 But I regularly whisper to the app, “It’s okay. I still love you.” 😄😄😄

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

