Rapid Book Fire Tag | Tag Tuesday

I was tagged by the awe-inspiring Hannah Grace to do this tag and I’m so excited because it has been SOOO long since I posted something bookish in this blog. If you’ve seen in my categories, I have removed Bookish from the main topics in this blog because of the huge changes I’ve put in here. Still love books tho ❤

So let’s get to it!

Rapid Fire Book Tag | A book tag! Because it’s been so long since I actually talked about books :)

Note: There are some affiliated links below but I will never recommend or mention a book I less than love. 🙂

EBOOKS OR PHYSICAL BOOKS?

I love both, actually. I’m the type who’s like, “Give me a good story in any platform and I’ll gobble it like it’s my last meal!”

PAPERBACKS OR HARDBACKS?

I CAN’T CHOOSE ONE. I love both equally.

ONLINE OR IN-STORE BOOK SHOPPING?

Okay, I only recently tried online book shopping and it scared the heck out of me the first time. Imagine your grandma sweating nervously while she signs up for Facebook. That’s me (unless your grandma’s braver than me, then yay awesome grandma! :D)

Anyway, there’s something exciting with in-store book shopping. Circling around every shelf, loving all the covers, secretly smelling the pages, and internally crying because you only brought enough money to buy two books and you’re choosing between like… ten. An adventure, I tell ya.

TRILOGIES OR SERIES?

Here’s my general preferences depending on genres:

Stand-alones for contemporary, either YA, NA or adult
Trilogies for dystopian, sci-fi and urban fantasy
Series for adventure fantasy and epic fantasy. (*whispers* BECAUSE I WANT MORE FROM THESE GENRES)

HEROES OR VILLAINS?

Heroes are cool and all but you know they’re the good guys, right? Which is why they’re kinda boring to me. I like anti-heroes more.

But villains! Oh boi if the villain has an amazing character depth and they either have a reason to be the antagonist of the story (and not be bad for absolutely no reason, blegh) or the “villain” is walking on that fine line between good and bad… Oh man, I love them. Examples are The Darkling (or Alexandeeeer!*) from the Grisha Trilogy and, in a way, Severus Snape. I mean, all throughout the series Harry thought he was the bad guy, right? But then… *sniff* Excuse me, I have to cry for hours.

A BOOK YOU WANT EVERYONE TO READ?

A Book of Revelations by A.C. Burch. It’s a collection of short stories and every short story has something exciting and insightful to learn from. I mentioned this book in a post before. And here’s my favorite quote from the book (which is hard to choose, by the way, because the book has so many great quotes and words of wisdom)

RECOMMEND AN UNDERRATED BOOK

The Hidden Dawn by Elke Silvarain. Betcha didn’t know that, huh? It’s a YA novel about a girl who moved from England to the magical country of Canada. And it’s beyond beautiful. I love how the author delicately depicts depression and anxiety. Also the magical element with the First Nation and the mysterious elk makes it even more of an exhilarating and beautiful reading experience.

You can read my review of this book in Underground Book Reviews, where self-published and indie authors are given the exposure they deserve. There are so many great books in the world and it would be great if we can also support the self-published and indie authors out there who shared their incredible works to the world.

THE LAST BOOK I FINISHED

Oy. I have no idea. Uhh… I think The Treason Game by Viv Doyle.

WEIRDEST THING YOU HAVE USED AS A BOOKMARK?

A dry face towel.

USED BOOKS, YES OR NO?

So long as every page is there and it’s readable, yes.

TOP THREE FAVORITE GENRES?

From top one to three: Fantasy, Adventure, Contemporary

BORROW OR BUY?

Hmm… If someone recommended a book whose author or title I haven’t heard before, I’ll probably just be like, “Well, lend it to me and we’ll see if I like it.”

CHARACTERS OR PLOT?

Characters. Seriously, I can read a story with a simple plot so long as the characters are interesting. Like Give Me Your Answer True by Suanne Lacquer. But a well-written plot with bland characters? It gets boring in the early chapters real fast.

LONG OR SHORT BOOKS?

Depends on the font size mehehe :3

LONG OR SHORT CHAPTERS?

A mix of both.

NAME THE FIRST THREE BOOKS YOU THINK OF

The Lightning Thief

Anna and the French Kiss

The Final Empire

BOOKS THAT MAKE YOU LAUGH OR CRY

For laugh: A Book of Revelations, I’ve Got Your Number or anything by Sophie Kinsella honestly, and every. Rick. Riordan. Book. Ey!

For cry: The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (Mancheeeeee) and Here to Stay by Suanne Lacquer.

OUR WORLD OR FICTIONAL WORLDS?

Fictional worlds all the way! I want to see a world where narwhals are cotton candy pink and have wings 😀

AUDIOBOOKS, YES OR NO?

Never tried. I’m only trying out podcasts recently so we’ll see.

DO YOU EVER JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER?

Seriously though, I’m a shallow person when it comes to book covers. If it’s artistically pretty or has an interesting title, I’m sold.

BOOK TO MOVIE OR BOOK TO TV ADAPTATIONS?

Ehh… I honestly don’t know. Some movie adaptations cut out lots of scenes because of their limited time. But some TV adaptations make the story more angst-y and I don’t like that. *cough* Like CW *cough* #SorryNotSorry

SERIES OR STANDALONES?

Please see general preferences for genres above 🙂

I TAG

Everyone who wants to do it. If you haven’t done this yet and you want to, I tag you, Pikachu!

Happy reading, awesome peeps!

* If you get the reference, I’m giving you a cookie! 😉
6 thoughts on “Rapid Book Fire Tag | Tag Tuesday

    1. OH MY GOSH THANK YOU FOR POINTING THAT OUT! I wrote the entire post on Word and completely forgot to copy+paste that to WordPress. Thank you, May! You da real MVQ, Most Valuable Queen 😄
      Also yes! I love me some well-developed villains 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Yessss! Team Villain all day, every day!! lol I love a good villain/anti-hero, too. 🙂
    This tag is such a fun one, and I really enjoyed reading your answers, especially the one about book shopping. lol

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

