5 Reasons Why I Choose To Have a Positive Mindset

The idea to write this seems hilarious for me. Because to be honest, “positive” is not something I would describe myself.

See, I think I was born a cynic.

You wouldn’t believe how easy it is for me to see the bad things—expect them even! So every time something’s on the news that’s bad (and there are tons recently) I can hear my cynic self poking at my mind like,

And I told one of my friends about it. How I feel sad whenever I prove my cynic self right. And my friend told me this… really amazing thing:

“Then one of your goals in life would be to prove your cynic self wrong, right?”

The moment he said that, I was instantly filled with this purpose.

I mean, I wouldn’t call it the Ultimate Purpose of My Life™. The world didn’t turn upside down*. I didn’t discover the fountain of youth. I wasn’t enlightened the way Buddha was.

But it was something.

Something that won’t keep my entire mind submerged beneath the murky waters that my cynic self so lovingly dwells. Like a grumpy old troll who lives under the bridge**.

I’ll have to tell you, though: being an optimist and creating a positive mindset is slightly different.

I mean, think about it. I would never call myself an optimist because it’s not something ingrained in me. That’s just not who I am. I’m still a cynic; I’m just trying to build myself a positive perspective. And yes, you can be an optimistic cynic, Psychology Today said so!

So here I am: a self-proclaimed cynic building a positive mindset for a year or so, sharing to you the reasons why I chose to have one.

*anyone got that reference?? Tell me you sang that! 😀
**You must have known this one, right? RIIIGHT?

5 Reasons Why I Choose to Have a Positive Mindset | Here’s a self-proclaimed cynic sharing five reasons why she chose to have a positive mindset.

1 | It does not mess up with your thinking—and your health

The thing with being a cynic is that you’re cautious with everything you see, hear, feel and read. And you expect bad things to happen. You see a guy wearing a long coat and a bowler hat and every alarm in your body sounds. Unless you’re a Riordan reader then you’d be like, “OMG is that my Uncle Amos who’s gonna tell me I’m a host to an Egyptian god??”* Outside that, your first instinct is going to be: avoid that guy STAT.

All that negative emotions can mess up with your mind and even your physical health. And the thing is, we’re naturally skeptical. Expecting the worse is part of our innate survival instincts. So having a positive outlook can balance out that natural negative thinking.

Also I did mention above that having a positive mindset kept me from being submerged into the depths of Negativity, right? So yeah: a positive mindset is like a life preserver keeping you afloat.

*I’m sorry, I can’t help myself XD

2 | It helps build your resiliency

This one’s no question. Creating a positive mindset can help in building your resiliency amidst any adversary you may encounter. And people who have a more positive outlook in life are able to cope better when the going gets tough because they can see past the problems they’re presently facing. They also have that admirable ability to see the good in whatever scenario.

3 | You won’t overly panic when dealing with problems

I’d like to think that I’m not the kind of person who easily gets overwhelmed with problems.* I’ve even been told that I seem calm at the most stressful situations. The thing is, that’s probably just my poker face working wonders. More often than not tho: I do react; I just do the reacting mentally.

So in scenarios like we aren’t halfway through a group project that’s due in two days, I’m basically like:

Image result for panic gif

So yeah, I do panic. I just panic mentally. But then over-panicking of any kind is never good. Which is why building a positive mindset helps a lot. Telling myself “You can do this, Kate!” and thinking that I am capable of getting through this problem are good morale-boosters. But you shouldn’t just rely on positive thinking for you to overcome obstacles or reach your goals.

*Although it’s a WHOLE ‘nother story if we’re talking about emotions *cough*

4 | If you add in realism, a positive mindset can lead to greater success

It’s been long proven that believing you can succeed is important to succeeding. But believing you will succeed easily? Like without all the hard work and the sweat and tears and blood and a part of your soul dissipating into the void? Not good yo.

This is where being realistic comes in.

In fact, believing that the road to success will be rocky leads to higher success rates because it prompts you to act. There was even a study conducted about this. So don’t just be all cliché and say, “I know I’ll succeed! Sure, it’s gonna be a rocky road BUT I WILL SUCCEED!” Because while this is good pep talk, it won’t enough to drive you into action.

Actually freakin-acknowledge the hardships you’ll be facing! List them down if you must!

For example, you believe that 2017 is your year. You just freakin-feel it in your bones: you’re going to get that limited edition Rainbow Unicorn Kit that they only sell in Target like once in a blue moon. Yes, that’s good for morale.

But for you to actually get that glorious kit, you have to list down all the problems you expect to encounter. Traffic, big crowds who also want that Rainbow Unicorn, wailing kids who cry to get what they want*, and other things.

*Man, I love kids but this kind I can only merely tolerate

5 | It can affect the mood of the people you interact

I read in this article that we humans usually reflect back how other people behave towards us. So like if you’re being snappy to someone, there’s a high chance that person’s going to be snappy to you as well. And if you’re being a quiet, awkward potato*, people will be quiet and awkward to you too. The same goes with positive emotions.

I mean, have you ever wonder why smiles and laughs are so contagious? People unconsciously and automatically mimic whatever emotional expression is thrown his/her way. This is another reason why having a positive attitude is a quality a great leader should have; it inspires his team to do their best. It’s a morale booster.

And so, you don’t only help your own disposition, you can affect others’ as well 😀

*I learned this through firsthand experience yo

Your turn: Do you think having a positive mindset is important? Do you also have a hard time thinking positively? How do you cope with it?

And the Most Important Question: DO YOU LIKE RAINBOW UNICORNS??

Have an inspired day, awesome peeps! ❤

34 thoughts on “5 Reasons Why I Choose To Have a Positive Mindset

    1. Whoop whoop! Join the club, we’ve got rainbow cakes and cookies 😀 Thank you so much for reading! I’m so glad you found inspiration through them 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you so much Chloe! Yes having a positive mindset is important. And I do hope it will help people, especially my fellow cynics out there 😊

      Like

  1. I LOVE RAINBOW UNICORNS!!🌈🦄
    This is so so true!! I love all of your reasons and this is was so much fun to read,I really like the GIFs that you included as well! (And the references!)
    I think I’m a positive person because I like to look onto the bright side and sort of spread good vibes? I think it’s really fun!
    And you are so right,having a positive mindset can literally change everything!! Amazing post,I loved it!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YAY FOR RAINBOW UNICORNS! 🙆❤
      Thank you so much Sasha! And no you don’t just “sort of” spread good vibes. YOU DO SPREAD HAPPY VIBES. Like nutella on bread 😁 Have an awesome day you happy awesome person you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yay for rainbow unicorns!! And thank you so so much!! This literally made my day!!! I’m melting into a litter pile of happiness right now. 😊😊😊 You are SO SO Sweet and Kind!!! I hope that you have a day that’s as AMAZING as you are! ❤🌈🦄

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Everything you said is SO TRUE! 🙂 I used to be a way more negative person. I mean, I was always nice to people and everything but I just always expected the worst (still do sometimes, BUT while expecting the bad I at least HOPE for the best!) Hope can be a very powerful thing. Star Wars did not steer us wrong with that notion. lol Life’s just so much easier when you try to be positive. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally agree! Especially with the 5th point because I’m the other side. I get influenced by other’s moods and feelings very much and tend to absorb them. This helps me to understand others and give support, but it also means that if any one of the people I interact with are down, I get down. I regularly take mental health days and spend some time to myself every day to recharge away from people to help. I’m naturally a positive person, as I’ve been told many times, but when influenced and sad, almost everyone start asking questions and it’s not a totally “valid” reason so I don’t know what to say.
    Aand I went off rambling away. Great post! (Also your Pinterest-friendly graphic is goals)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s great that you’re aware of this part of yourself and that you take mental health days to recharge. That’s an admirable quality!
      And please, ramble away! Don’t restrain yourself 😀 I greatly appreciate paragraph/essay comments. Besides I tend to do that too; I think I did in your posts 😄 And ohgorsh thank you so much! I’m so happy you knew it was for Pinterest because I rarely get that pointed out 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, I love this! I definitely need to be more positive — and I am, in certain aspects of my life. But the other aspects? Not so much. Love this post!

    And ALL THE REFERENCES, MAN. HAMILTON, PJO, THREE BILLY GOATS GRUFF (is that the name??? XD). I’M LOVIN THEM.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awwe thank you May! I’m sure other aspects of your life will have their dose of positivity-lovin soon 😊
      MEHEHE YOU ACTUALLY GOT ALL OF THEM, TRULY YOU ARE THE MANGO QUEEN 👏 but omg I made an unintentional reference?? What’s the three billy goats gruff? 😅

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Okay so I just did a quick research and ohwow, there is a grumpy old troll who lives under the bridge in that story. That’s amazing.
          I was referring to Dora the Explorer tho XD

          Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts

